Lions leave a few Boks behind

Tue, 07 Mar 2017 07:35

SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENT: Lions head coach Johan Ackermann will be without a number of key players when his team takes on the Jaguares in Argentina on Saturday. 

Some of the Springboks not travelling with the side are Elton Jantjies (paternity leave), Franco Mostert (rest), Lionel Mapoe (rehab and rest), Rohan Janse van Rensburg (funeral of his mother) and Ruan Combrinck (injured).
The Lions are currently unbeaten in this year's tournament after wins against the Cheetahs and the Waratahs. 

They are also currently the highest-placed South African team in the combined Super Rugby standings.

Ackermann will confirm his matchday 23 later this week.

Lions squad: Jacques van Rooyen, Dylan Smith, Ruan Dreyer, Johannes Jonker, Hencus van Wyk, Malcolm Marx, Robbie Coetzee, Andries Ferreira, Lourens Erasmus, Marvin Orie, Jaco Kriel, Albertus Smith, Cyle Brink, Ruan Ackermann, Warren Whiteley, Ross Cronjé, Francois de Klerk, Andries Coetzee, Shaun Reynolds, Jaco van der Walt, Courtnall Skosan, Anthony Volmink, Harold Vorster, Jacques Nel, Sylvian Mahuza.

There are currently no matches being played
Sun, 25 February 2018
London Irish v Worcester Warriors 13h00 Madejski Stadium
Zebre v Cardiff Blues 13h00 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
Saracens v Leicester Tigers 15h30 Allianz Park
Fri, 02 March 2018
Blues v Chiefs 06h35 Eden Park
Reds v Brumbies 09h00 Suncorp Stadium
Kings v Dragons 17h35 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Edinburgh v Munster 19h35 Myreside
Ulster v Glasgow Warriors 19h35 Kingspan Stadium
Cardiff Blues v Treviso 19h35 Cardiff Arms Park
Harlequins v Bath 19h45 Twickenham Stoop
Sat, 03 March 2018
Sunwolves v Rebels 22h00 Tokyo
Crusaders v Stormers 06h35 Christchurch
Sharks v Waratahs 13h05 Kings Park
Exeter Chiefs v Saracens 15h00 Sandy Park
Northampton Saints v Sale Sharks 15h00 Franklin's Gardens
Gloucester v Newcastle Falcons 15h00 Kingsholm
Bulls v Lions 15h15 Loftus Versfeld
Scarlets v Leinster 15h15 Parc y Scarlets
Zebre v Ospreys 17h30 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
Cheetahs v Connacht 17h35 Bloemfontein
Jaguares v Hurricanes 21h40 Estadio Jose Amalfitani
Pool AU
Team P W D L Pts
Rebels 1 1 0 0 5
Waratahs 1 1 0 0 4
Brumbies 1 1 0 0 4
Sunwolves 1 0 0 1 1
Reds 1 0 0 1 0
Pool NZ
Team P W D L Pts
Crusaders 1 1 0 0 5
Highlanders 1 1 0 0 4
Hurricanes 1 0 0 1 1
Blues 1 0 0 1 1
Chiefs 1 0 0 1 0
Pool SA
Team P W D L Pts
Lions 2 2 0 0 9
Stormers 2 1 0 1 5
Bulls 1 1 0 0 4
Sharks 1 0 0 1 1
Jaguares 2 0 0 2 0