Stirzaker cleared to play
SUPER RUGBY NEWS: There will be no further sanction on Rebels scrumhalf Nic Stirzaker after he received two yellow cards - and a subsequent red card - against the Sharks on Saturday.
Stirzaker pled guilty for contravening Law 10.2(a) Intentionally Offending when he deliberately knocked the ball down on two separate occasions.
In his finding, Foul Play Review Committee Chairman Nigel Hampton QC ruled the following:
"Having conducted a detailed review of all the available evidence, including all camera angles and additional evidence, which consisted of a statement from the player and submissions from his legal representative, Michele Williams, the Foul Play Review Committee upheld the Red Card under Law 10.2(a).
"With respect to sanction the Foul Play Review Committee ruled, after considering a number of factors, including the effect of the red card both on the match and on the player's team, and the player being off the field for some 22 minutes for 'technical' offences, that the player's ordering off merited no further sanction.
"The player is therefore free to play and will serve no additional suspension," he said.
The SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee of Nigel Hampton QC (Chairman), Stefan Terblanche and Stephen Hardy assessed the case.
All SANZAAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to the Foul Play Review Committee to provide the option of expediting the judicial process. For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the Foul Play Review Committee.