Making Super Rugby Betting Easy

Thu, 18 May 2017 16:03
Large betway super rugby logo with rugby365 800

ADVERTORIAL: As the Super Rugby competition reaches Round 12 and the action really heats up, Betway announced that players can now bet on the matches through the new app available across South Africa.

This means that fans can put money behind their predictions on the games for their favourite team and use the Betway rugby betting facility to bet safely.

What is Super Rugby?

Back in 1986, NSW and Queensland played against teams from Auckland, Canterbury and Wellington as well as a side from Fiji. The competition was a success and it was decided to make it into a regular event, known as the South Pacific Championship or the Super Six. When South Africa re-joined the rugby world in 1993, sides from the country joined the competition and it became the Super 10.

In 1996, SANZAR was formed from the rugby unions of Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and Argentina. This led to the Super 10 becoming the Super 12 and the first professional international domestic tournament made up of the twelve top teams from the countries. These would become franchises.

In New Zealand, the 26 domestic unions became five franchises, based on their local areas. The three Australian sides included the two states, New South Wales and Queensland as well as a new team called the Brumbies. In South Africa, to start with teams played through the Currie Cup to qualify before the unions were united to create franchises in the New Zealand manner.

Finally, the competition became the Super 14 when the Western Force and the Cheetahs were admitted. This led to the competition become a round-robin style regular season competition with the Finals Series played between the top four teams.

Competition becomes Super Rugby

The 2011 season saw the competition expanded to fifteen teams with the Melbourne Rebels joining and for the first time, it was split into three conferences, five teams in each. The Finals Series became a six-match set up with the three conference winners and the top three overall points scorers entering it.

The last change came in the 2016-17 season when the competition received its new name, Super Rugby and became a four-conference competition with new teams from South Africa, Argentina and Japan joining the existing teams and franchises.

How the competition works

To make the most of your bets, it helps to understand how the competition works. There is a total of 135 matches across 17 rounds in this season’s competition and the teams are currently approaching Round 10. There are four points for a win, two for a draw and there are bonus points for losses depending on the score.

In the competition each team plays six matches in its conference and 9 matches against other conference teams. They will have a total of eight home and seven away matches.

The team to win each conference will go into the Finals Series and there are four wildcard places. These go to the best placed runner up based on points.

Who will win?

The competition this year is a close one and the early matches have shown a variety of results. Before the tournament started, some experts were backing the 2015 winners Highlanders to win again this year while others are split between them and fellow New Zealand team the Crusaders as the eventual winners. The Australian sides have lost a few key players that make their chances much reduced.

Fans can place their bets through the Betway app and get great odds while betting in complete confidence at the security of the website. All they have to do is decide who they think will win!

* Betway rugby betting

Sources for additional reporting: &


There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 24 November 2017
Cheetahs v Edinburgh 17h30 Bloemfontein
Ulster v Treviso 19h05 Kingspan Stadium
Cardiff Blues v Connacht 19h35 Cardiff Arms Park
Leinster v Dragons 19h35 RDS Stadium
Newcastle Falcons v Gloucester 19h45 Kingston Park
Sat, 25 November 2017
Leicester Tigers v Worcester Warriors 12h45 Welford Road
Bath v Harlequins 12h45 Recreation Ground
Italy v South Africa 13h00 Rome
Scotland v Australia 14h30 Edinburgh
England v Samoa 15h00 Twickenham
Wales v New Zealand 17h15 Cardiff
Sale Sharks v Northampton Saints 17h30 AJ Bell Stadium
Ireland v Argentina 17h30 Aviva Stadium
France v Japan 19h00 Paris
Sun, 26 November 2017
Ospreys v Glasgow Warriors 13h00 Liberty Stadium
Kings v Scarlets 13h00 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Zebre v Munster 13h30 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
Saracens v Exeter Chiefs 15h00 Allianz Park
London Irish v Wasps 15h00 Madejski Stadium
Pool AU
Team P W D L Pts
Brumbies 15 6 0 9 34
Force 15 6 0 9 26
Reds 15 4 0 11 21
Waratahs 15 4 0 11 19
Rebels 15 1 1 13 9
Pool NZ
Team P W D L Pts
Crusaders 15 14 0 1 63
Hurricanes 15 12 0 3 58
Chiefs 15 12 1 2 57
Highlanders 15 11 0 4 51
Blues 15 7 1 7 37
Pool SA1
Team P W D L Pts
Stormers 15 10 0 5 43
Cheetahs 15 4 0 11 21
Bulls 15 4 0 11 20
Sunwolves 15 2 0 13 12
Pool SA2
Team P W D L Pts
Lions 15 14 0 1 65
Sharks 15 9 1 5 42
Jaguares 15 7 0 8 33
Kings 15 6 0 9 28