Unchanged Brumbies await Jaguares

Fri, 26 May 2017 08:56
Large brumbies frontrow lines up 800

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: For the first time this season, the Brumbies will head into a Super Fixture with an unchanged matchday 23 as head coach Stephen Larkham keeps the faith with the team that beat the Kings in Round 13.

The Brumbies pack is set for a monumental challenge against the Jaguares at the Estadio Jose Amalfitani in Buenos Aires, with the Argentineans priding themselves on their physicality at the set-piece and enjoying the battle at scrum-time.

Prop Ben Alexander will equal the Brumbies all-time record number of caps when he takes to the field for the 142nd time, levelling the mark set by legendary flank George Smith. Alexander lines up in an experienced front-row alongside Josh Mann-Rea and Alan Alaalatoa, who was man of the match against the Kings.

Captain Sam Carter will lead the club on their first foray into Argentina with most of the Brumbies squad, except for a handful of Australian internationals, never having tasted the ferocity of rugby in the country and ready for what is likely to be a baptism of fire.

The Jaguares will be playing the fourth of five consecutive home matches and come into the game fresh having had the bye in Round 13. They have won five and lost two of their home fixtures this season with both defeats coming in the last three outings, as the Sharks and Force came away from South America with victories.

In the backs, Tom Banks stays at fullback whilst Aidan Toua continues on the left wing, both having crossed the try-line in the 19-10 success in South Africa. On the bench, there is another opportunity for Andy Muirhead who became Brumby number 195 seven days ago.

Brumbies: 15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Aidan Toua, 10 Wharenui Hawera, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Jordan Smiler, 7 Chris Alcock, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Sam Carter (captain), 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Josh Mann-Rea, 1 Ben Alexander.
Replacements: 16 Robbie Abel, 17 Nic Mayhew, 18 Leslie Leulua'iali'i-makin, 19 Blake Enever, 20 Jarrad Butler, 21 De Wet Roos, 22 Andrew Smith, 23 Andrew Muirhead.

Date: Saturday, May 27
Venue: Vélez Sarsfield, Buenos Aires
Kick-off: 18.40 (21.40 GMT; 07.40, Sunday, May 28 AEST)
Referee: Mike Fraser
Assistant referees: Federico Anselmi, Jose Covasi
TMO: Santiago Borsani

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 29 September 2017
Sharks v Golden Lions 17h00 Durban
Worcester Warriors v Saracens 18h35 Sixways
Newcastle Falcons v London Irish 18h35 Kingston Park
Sale Sharks v Gloucester 19h00 AJ Bell Stadium
Leinster v Edinburgh 19h35 RDS Arena
Glasgow Warriors v Treviso 19h35 Scotstoun Stadium
Scarlets v Connacht 19h35 Parc y Scarlets
Sat, 30 September 2017
Griquas v Free State Cheetahs 12h00 Kimberley
Leicester Tigers v Exeter Chiefs 13h00 Welford Road
Munster v Cardiff Blues 13h30 Thomond Park
Cheetahs v Ospreys 14h00 Bloemfontein
Northampton Saints v Harlequins 14h00 Franklin's Gardens
Wasps v Bath 14h00 Ricoh Arena
Zebre v Ulster 14h35 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
South Africa v Australia 15h05 Bloemfontein
Dragons v Kings 18h35 Rodney Parade
Sun, 01 October 2017
Argentina v New Zealand 22h30 Estadio Jose Amalfitani
Blue Bulls v Western Province 12h30 Loftus Versfeld
Pool AU
Team P W D L Pts
Brumbies 15 6 0 9 34
Force 15 6 0 9 26
Reds 15 4 0 11 21
Waratahs 15 4 0 11 19
Rebels 15 1 1 13 9
Pool NZ
Team P W D L Pts
Crusaders 15 14 0 1 63
Hurricanes 15 12 0 3 58
Chiefs 15 12 1 2 57
Highlanders 15 11 0 4 51
Blues 15 7 1 7 37
Pool SA1
Team P W D L Pts
Stormers 15 10 0 5 43
Cheetahs 15 4 0 11 21
Bulls 15 4 0 11 20
Sunwolves 15 2 0 13 12
Pool SA2
Team P W D L Pts
Lions 15 14 0 1 65
Sharks 15 9 1 5 42
Jaguares 15 7 0 8 33
Kings 15 6 0 9 28