Road to the play-offs: Top eight confirmed

Mon, 03 Jul 2017 08:38
Large takaaki nakazuru sunwolves v courtnal skosan lions 800

SUPER RUGBY SPOTLIGHT: The eight quarterfinalists have been decided, but the final positions are far from being confirmed.

The 2017 season enters the penultimate round this weekend - with the Australian teams returning to action to join the South African teams in Round 16, following the conclusion of the June Test window.

The New Zealand teams will re-enter the competition for the last round next week, following the completion of the British and Irish Lions series in New Zealand.

The four conference winners are the Crusaders, Lions, Stormers and Brumbies.

The four wild card teams are the Hurricanes, Chiefs, Highlanders and Sharks.

However, the final positions and the quarterfinal seedings that determine who plays who are yet to be finalised.

This will come down to the wire and the final Round of Super Rugby.

Round 17 will see all 18 teams in action.

Round 16 will be important for the Brumbies and Stormers, who are fighting it out to determine who will finish as third and fourth seeds as conference winners.

The eventual third seed will play the sixth placed wild card, while the fourth seed will play the fifth placed wild card.

The Stormers host the Sunwolves in Cape Town, while on paper the Brumbies have a harder assignment playing away against the Reds in Brisbane.

The Lions are the only team that can catch the unbeaten Crusaders in the race for first place - but only if the Hurricanes beat the Crusaders in Round 17.

By the time the Lions' game against the Sharks kick off in Durban just after 17.00 (15.00 GMT) on July 15, they will know if the Crusaders had left open the back door.

To date across the 121 Super Rugby matches played this season we have seen an incredible 847 tries scored with the Hurricanes setting a new season record with 85.

Indeed Hurricanes backs Vince Aso and Ngani Laumape lead the individual statistics with 14 tries each.

Current quarterfinal standings

For the full standings, CLICK HERE!

For the remaining fixtures, CLICK HERE!

Free State Cheetahs vs Pumas
sast: 17h30 | local: 17h30

  • 33 | 32
Fri, 22 September 2017
Cheetahs v Leinster 18h00 Bloemfontein
Glasgow Warriors v Munster 18h35 Scotstoun Stadium
Ulster v Dragons 18h35 Kingspan Stadium
Gloucester v Worcester Warriors 18h45 Kingsholm
Treviso v Ospreys 19h35 Stadio Monigo
Sat, 23 September 2017
Sharks v Blue Bulls 13h00 Durban
Saracens v Sale Sharks 14h00 Allianz Park
Harlequins v Leicester Tigers 14h00 Twickenham Stoop
Bath v Newcastle Falcons 14h00 Recreation Ground
Connacht v Cardiff Blues 14h15 Sportsground
Western Province v Griquas 15h15 Newlands
Kings v Zebre 17h35 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Scarlets v Edinburgh 18h35 Parc y Scarlets
Sun, 24 September 2017
London Irish v Northampton Saints 13h00 Madejski Stadium
Exeter Chiefs v Wasps 14h00 Sandy Park
Pool AU
Team P W D L Pts
Brumbies 15 6 0 9 34
Force 15 6 0 9 26
Reds 15 4 0 11 21
Waratahs 15 4 0 11 19
Rebels 15 1 1 13 9
Pool NZ
Team P W D L Pts
Crusaders 15 14 0 1 63
Hurricanes 15 12 0 3 58
Chiefs 15 12 1 2 57
Highlanders 15 11 0 4 51
Blues 15 7 1 7 37
Pool SA1
Team P W D L Pts
Stormers 15 10 0 5 43
Cheetahs 15 4 0 11 21
Bulls 15 4 0 11 20
Sunwolves 15 2 0 13 12
Pool SA2
Team P W D L Pts
Lions 15 14 0 1 65
Sharks 15 9 1 5 42
Jaguares 15 7 0 8 33
Kings 15 6 0 9 28