Sunwolves chop and change for Stormers

Fri, 07 Jul 2017 09:10
Large sunwolves mascot with balls 800

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: The Sunwolves have made a number of changes to their side for their clash against the Stormers at Newlands on Saturday.

Shokei Kin and Yoshitaka Tokunaga are replaced by Shuhei Matsuhasi and Malgene Ilaua in the back row, while Uwe Helu comes in the second row in place of Sam Wykes.

In the front row, Takuma Asahara, Takeshi Hino and Koki Yamamoto are chosen ahead of Yasuo Yamaji, Atsushi Sakate and Masataka Mikami.

In the backline, Riaan Viljoen replaces Yasutaka Sasakura at fullback, while Yu Tamura comes into the flyhalf position in place of Jumpei Ogura. The other change in the backline sees Kotaro Matsushima replacing Takaaki Nakazuru on the wing.

"We were not happy about our performance and a lot of things were not the way we wanted to represent ourselves, players, management so we will front up against the Stormers in Cape Town," says Sunwolves head coach Filo Tiatia. 

"Stormers are a very good side. We played them early in the year in Singapore which was a close game and Robbie Fleck is a very good coach and they've got a lot of Springboks in the team. 

"We are more concerned around our performance than worrying about the Stormers because we've got a lot of stuff we have to do in all facets of our play so we are really trying to concentrate on that." 

"We just have to be better. We have competed well against a lot of teams especially the New Zealand teams like Highlanders and the Chiefs. We started the season against the Hurricanes where they scored a lot of points against us but we showed a lot of character and heart. We know that we can compete against some of the best teams in the world so we just have to be consistent about how we play and represent the jersey of the Sunwolves. We want to bounce back and earn some respect against us."

Sunwolves: 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Kotaro Matsushima, 13 Ryohei Yamanaka, 12 Derek Carpenter, 11 Teruya Goto, 10 Yu Tamura, 9 Keisuke Uchida, 8 Willem Britz (captain), 7 Shuhei Matsuhashi, 6 Malgene Ilaua, 5 Uwe Helu, 4 Kotaro Yatabe, 3 Takuma Asahara, 2 Takeshi Hino, 1 Koki Yamamoto.
Replacements: 16 Atsushi Sakate, 17 Masataka Mikami, 18 Koo Jiwon, 19 Yoshitaka Tokunaga, 20 Shokei Kin, 21 Kaito Shigeno, 22 Rikiya Matsuda, 23 Jumpei Ogura.

Date: Saturday, July 8
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-off: 19.30 (17.30 GMT; 02.30 Sunday, July 9 Japan Time)
Referee: Quinton Immelman (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Shuhei Kubo (Japan), TBC
TMO: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 24 November 2017
Ospreys v Glasgow Warriors 22h00 Liberty Stadium
Ulster v Treviso 18h05 Kingspan Stadium
Cardiff Blues v Connacht 18h35 Cardiff Arms Park
Leinster v Dragons 18h35 RDS Stadium
Newcastle Falcons v Gloucester 18h45 Kingston Park
Leicester Tigers v Worcester Warriors 18h45 Welford Road
Sale Sharks v Northampton Saints 19h00 AJ Bell Stadium
Sat, 25 November 2017
Bath v Harlequins 11h15 Recreation Ground
Italy v South Africa 13h00 Rome
Scotland v Australia 14h30 Cardiff
England v Samoa 15h00 Twickenham
Wales v New Zealand 17h15 Cardiff
Ireland v Argentina 17h30 Aviva Stadium
Cheetahs v Edinburgh 17h30 Bloemfontein
France v Japan 19h00 Paris
Sun, 26 November 2017
Zebre v Munster 13h00 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
Kings v Scarlets 13h00 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Saracens v Exeter Chiefs 14h00 Allianz Park
London Irish v Wasps 14h00 Madejski Stadium
Pool AU
Team P W D L Pts
Brumbies 15 6 0 9 34
Force 15 6 0 9 26
Reds 15 4 0 11 21
Waratahs 15 4 0 11 19
Rebels 15 1 1 13 9
Pool NZ
Team P W D L Pts
Crusaders 15 14 0 1 63
Hurricanes 15 12 0 3 58
Chiefs 15 12 1 2 57
Highlanders 15 11 0 4 51
Blues 15 7 1 7 37
Pool SA1
Team P W D L Pts
Stormers 15 10 0 5 43
Cheetahs 15 4 0 11 21
Bulls 15 4 0 11 20
Sunwolves 15 2 0 13 12
Pool SA2
Team P W D L Pts
Lions 15 14 0 1 65
Sharks 15 9 1 5 42
Jaguares 15 7 0 8 33
Kings 15 6 0 9 28