Peyper gets Super Final nod

Tue, 01 Aug 2017 06:16

NEWS: South Africa's Jaco Peyper was Tuesday named as referee for the Super Rugby Final as officials shrugged off calls for a neutral whistle-blower after a yellow-card controversy in the semis.

This will be Peyper's second final. In 2015 he refereed the final between the Hurricanes and the Chiefs in Wellington.

Glen Jackson, who refereed the 2016 final between the Hurricanes and the Lions in Wellington, is the No.1 assistant referee. Ted other assistant referee is Marius van der Westhuizen and the TMO is Marius Jonker.

For all four match officials it is a sign of valued competence and a vote of confidence.

Commenting on the appointments, SANZAAR CEO Andy Marinos said, “SANZAAR congratulates Jaco Peyper and all the match officials selected to this year’s final. The match official selection is never easy as we have a very dedicated group of officials who week in and week out perform very professionally and to very high standards.

“The selection criteria for all match official appointments for the last two years follows a clear tournament policy - as agreed by the SANZAAR Executive Committee and the tournament’s stakeholders – that such appointments be merit-based.

“This policy is written into the tournament protocols and appointments are made according to this policy on a weekly basis and is also the policy used for the finals last year as well as this year.

“This merit-based policy was reflected with the appointment last year of New Zealand referee Glen Jackson to referee the Hurricanes versus Lions final in Wellington. SANZAAR stands behind the policy and believes the best referees should be available to officiate the best matches."

The SANZAAR selection committee referred to is made up of Lyndon Bray (the game manager), Errol Brain (New Zealand), Wayne Erickson (Australia), Warren Kenaugh (Australia) and Chean Roux (South Africa) - two New Zealanders, two Australians and a South African. The coaches of the two teams, Lions and Crusaders, were both allowed to name their choice, and both chose Peyper.

Interestingly, the citing commissioner for the match is Freek Burger, who in 1993 refereed the very first Super Rugby (then Super 10) final at Ellis Park. He is back at Ellis Park this week as citing commissioner, his 300th citing appointment by SANZAAR.

2017 Super Rugby Final Match Officials:

Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Glen Jackson (News Zealand), Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa)
Television match official: Marius Jonker. (South Africa)
Citing commissioner: Freek Burger (South Africa)


There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 25 August 2017
Pumas v Blue Bulls 17h00 Nelspruit
Sat, 26 August 2017
New Zealand v Australia 07h35 Dunedin
Western Province v Sharks 13h00 Newlands
Free State Cheetahs v Golden Lions 15h15 Bloemfontein
Argentina v South Africa 17h30 Padre Ernesto Martearena Stadium
Pool AU
Team P W D L Pts
Brumbies 15 6 0 9 34
Force 15 6 0 9 26
Reds 15 4 0 11 21
Waratahs 15 4 0 11 19
Rebels 15 1 1 13 9
Pool NZ
Team P W D L Pts
Crusaders 15 14 0 1 63
Hurricanes 15 12 0 3 58
Chiefs 15 12 1 2 57
Highlanders 15 11 0 4 51
Blues 15 7 1 7 37
Pool SA1
Team P W D L Pts
Stormers 15 10 0 5 43
Cheetahs 15 4 0 11 21
Bulls 15 4 0 11 20
Sunwolves 15 2 0 13 12
Pool SA2
Team P W D L Pts
Lions 15 14 0 1 65
Sharks 15 9 1 5 42
Jaguares 15 7 0 8 33
Kings 15 6 0 9 28