Crusaders: Peyper is 'neutral'

Thu, 03 Aug 2017 10:57

SUPER RUGBY FINAL: The New Zealand media may be having a painful nappy rash over his appointment, but the Crusaders are happy to have Jaco Peyper as a referee.

SANZAAR opted for South Africa's Jaco Peyper to referee the Super Rugby Final between the Lions and Crusaders in Johannesburg on Saturday - because he is the best.

However, the New Zealand media had more than just a few hissy fits over his appointment, following - what has since been confirmed as correct - his decision to yellow card All Black flyhalf Beauden Barrett in the Lions' 44-29 win over the Hurricanes in the semifinal last week.

Despite remaining silent when New Zealand Glen Jackson was name to referee the 2016 Final between the Hurricanes and Lions, the Kiwi media spat the proverbial dummy and 'demanded' neutral referees.

However, Crusaders assistant coach Brad Mooar said they have no issues with Peyper being in charge of the tournament decider.

He suggested there is simply no question of any bias on Peyper's behalf.

"We are happy with Jaco," Mooar said in a teleconference from the team's training base in Johannesburg.

"He has refereed a big crowds on big occasions in South Africa before. It is not something that will be daunting to him.

"He generally manages the players very well.

"It is something that is out of our control and we just have to get on with it.

"We are happy that he is refereeing the game."

Mooar's stance - in stark contrast to his compatriots - has been echoed by SANZAAR, the custodians of the tournament.

"The selection criteria for all match official appointments for the last two years follows a clear tournament policy - as agreed by the SANZAAR Executive Committee and the tournament’s stakeholders – that such appointments be merit-based regardless of neutrality,"  SANZAAR CEO Andy Marinos said.

"This policy is written into the tournament protocols and appointments are made according to this policy on a weekly basis and is also the policy used for the play-offs last year as well as this year.
"This merit-based policy was reflected with the appointment last year of New Zealand referee Glen Jackson to referee the Hurricanes versus Lions Final in Wellington.

"SANZAAR stands behind the policy and believes the best referees should be available to officiate the best matches," Marinos added.


There are currently no matches being played
Sun, 24 September 2017
London Irish v Northampton Saints 13h00 Madejski Stadium
Exeter Chiefs v Wasps 14h00 Sandy Park
Fri, 29 September 2017
Sharks v Golden Lions 17h00 Durban
Newcastle Falcons v London Irish 18h35 Kingston Park
Worcester Warriors v Saracens 18h35 Sixways
Sale Sharks v Gloucester 19h00 AJ Bell Stadium
Glasgow Warriors v Treviso 19h35 Scotstoun Stadium
Leinster v Edinburgh 19h35 RDS Arena
Scarlets v Connacht 19h35 Parc y Scarlets
Sat, 30 September 2017
Griquas v Free State Cheetahs 12h00 Kimberley
Leicester Tigers v Exeter Chiefs 13h00 Welford Road
Munster v Cardiff Blues 13h30 Thomond Park
Northampton Saints v Harlequins 14h00 Franklin's Gardens
Cheetahs v Ospreys 14h00 Bloemfontein
Wasps v Bath 14h00 Ricoh Arena
Zebre v Ulster 14h35 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
South Africa v Australia 15h05 Bloemfontein
Dragons v Kings 18h35 Rodney Parade
Sun, 01 October 2017
Argentina v New Zealand 22h30 Estadio Jose Amalfitani
Pool AU
Team P W D L Pts
Brumbies 15 6 0 9 34
Force 15 6 0 9 26
Reds 15 4 0 11 21
Waratahs 15 4 0 11 19
Rebels 15 1 1 13 9
Pool NZ
Team P W D L Pts
Crusaders 15 14 0 1 63
Hurricanes 15 12 0 3 58
Chiefs 15 12 1 2 57
Highlanders 15 11 0 4 51
Blues 15 7 1 7 37
Pool SA1
Team P W D L Pts
Stormers 15 10 0 5 43
Cheetahs 15 4 0 11 21
Bulls 15 4 0 11 20
Sunwolves 15 2 0 13 12
Pool SA2
Team P W D L Pts
Lions 15 14 0 1 65
Sharks 15 9 1 5 42
Jaguares 15 7 0 8 33
Kings 15 6 0 9 28