Mapimpi's double helps Sharks down Bulls

Sat, 27 Jan 2018 18:39
Large mapimpi.800

SUPER RUGBY PRE-SEASON SPOTLIGHT: Sharks Makazole Mapimpi scored a brace tries in their 31-14 win over the Bulls at the Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane.

Sharks coach Robert du Preez named a first-half team and a second-half team for the clash against the Bulls.

The first 40 minutes of play was evenly poised. Both teams attacked with full intent however they had to settle for a 7-all scoreline at the break.

The Sharks were the first to score after 33 minutes of play. Kobus van Wyk's break managed to set up Cameron Wright for the first try of the match. Curwin Bosch slotted over the conversion, 7-0

On the stroke of half-time Bulls levelled the score as Manie Libbok's quick feet got him over the line. Flyhalf made no mistake to add the extras. 7-all as the teams head to the tunnel.

The second half belonged to the men in black, especially new recruit Makazole Mapimpi. The wing immediately made an impact as he scored his first try in the 47th minute for the 12-7 lead.

The Sharks' third try came via Marius Louw, who interception to score under the poles. Robert du Preez Jnr made no mistake to add the easy extras.

As the game reached the last minutes, Stephen Lewis got his name on the scoresheet, while Mapimpi sealed his brace for his side.

The Bulls' also added another try to their tally thanks to hooker Jaco Visagie.

The scorers:

The Bulls:
Libbok, Visagie
Cons: Libbok Boshoff

For Sharks:
Wright, Mapimpi 2, Louw, Vermeulen.
Cons: Bosch, Du Preez 2

Yellow card: Garth April (Sharks, 75- professional foul)

Bulls: 15 Divan Rossouw, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Johnny Kotze, 12 Burger Odendaal (captain), 11 Jade Stighling, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Hanro Liebenberg, 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Aston Fortuin, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Frans van Wyk, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Lizo Gqoboka.
Replacements: Jaco Visagie, Pierre Schoeman, Conraad van Vuuren, Eli Snyman, Jano Venter, Roelof Smit, Andre Warner, Marnitz Boshoff, Franco Naude, Jamba Ulengo, Duncan Matthews.


First-half team: 15 Lwazi Mvovo, 14 Jacobus van Wyk, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Jeremy Ward, 11 Sibusiso Nkosi, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Keegan Daniel, 7 Tyler Paul, 6 Jacques Vermeulen, 5 Ruan Botha (captain), 4 Hyron Andrews, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Armand van der Merwe, 1 Juan Schoeman

Second-half team: 15 Garth April, 14 Makazole Mapimpi, 13 Tristan Blewett, 12 Marius Louw, 11 Courtney Winnaar, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Lubabalo  Mtembu, 7 Wian Vosloo, 6 Philip van der Walt, 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Gideon Koegelenberg, 3 John-Hubert Meyer, 2 Franco Marais (captain), 1 Mzamo Majola

Extra players: Mahlatse Ralepelle , Khuta Mchunu

Referee: Jaco Peyper

There are currently no matches being played
Sun, 18 February 2018
Wasps v Exeter Chiefs 15h00 Ricoh Arena
Dragons v Treviso 15h30 Rodney Parade
Mon, 19 February 2018
NMMU-Madibaz v Wits 14h45 Port Elizabeth
Maties v CUT-Ixias 16h30 Cape Town
UCT-Ikeys v Shimlas 16h30 Cape Town
NWU-Pukke v UJ 17h00 Potchefstroom
Fri, 23 February 2018
Dragons v Edinburgh 22h00 Rodney Parade
Highlanders v Blues 06h35 Dunedin
Rebels v Reds 08h45 Melbourne
Munster v Glasgow Warriors 19h00 Irish Independent Park
Leinster v Kings 19h35 RDS
Scarlets v Ulster 19h35 Parc y Scarlets
France v Italy 20h00 Paris
Sat, 24 February 2018
Sunwolves v Brumbies 04h15 Tokyo
Crusaders v Chiefs 06h35 Christchurch
Waratahs v Stormers 08h45 Allianz Park
Treviso v Connacht 12h00 Stadio Monigo
Bath v Sale Sharks 12h30 Recreation Ground
Lions v Jaguares 13h05 Johannesburg
Exeter Chiefs v Northampton Saints 14h00 Sandy Park
Ireland v Wales 14h15 Aviva Stadium
Gloucester v Wasps 14h30 Kingsholm
Harlequins v Newcastle Falcons 15h00 Twickenham Stoop
Bulls v Hurricanes 15h15 Loftus Versfeld
Scotland v England 16h45 BT Murrayfield
Ospreys v Cheetahs 17h30 Liberty Stadium
Pool AU
Team P W D L Pts
Brumbies 0 0 0 0 0
Reds 0 0 0 0 0
Waratahs 0 0 0 0 0
Sunwolves 0 0 0 0 0
Rebels 0 0 0 0 0
Pool NZ
Team P W D L Pts
Crusaders 0 0 0 0 0
Hurricanes 0 0 0 0 0
Chiefs 0 0 0 0 0
Highlanders 0 0 0 0 0
Blues 0 0 0 0 0
Pool SA
Team P W D L Pts
Stormers 1 1 0 0 4
Lions 1 1 0 0 4
Sharks 1 0 0 1 1
Bulls 0 0 0 0 0
Jaguares 1 0 0 1 0