Why Matera replaced Creevy

Sun, 28 Jan 2018 17:31

REACTION: As the saying goes: 'A new broom sweeps clean.' New Jaguares coach Mario Ledesma has made his first significant statement.

Ledesma, who takes over from Raúl Pérez as head coach of the franchise, has also replaced Argentinean legend Agustin Creevy as captain.

Loose forward Pablo Matera has been entrusted with the captaincy of the embattled outfit - which has a winning rate of just 37 percent in its first two years of Super Rugby.

Fernando Rizzi, who serves as secretary of the Argentine Rugby Union and is also a member of the board of Jaguars, explained the importance of the captain.

"A captain encompasses many things,"Rizzi said.

"It is not a mere reward for a person," he said, adding: "To be, or to appoint a captain, as in this case, has to do with granting a great responsibility to a person who has demonstrated, over time, that his leadership has been built and solidified with his actions - on the field and at practice - through his positive attitude, his general commitment to the game and to the franchise.

"Pablo plays a very important role [in the team], despite being very young, and has everything to become a great leader.

"He has all the characteristics that suggests he will impact in the best way possible on his teammates."

* Meanwhile the Jaguars beat an Argentina XV 31-12 in their first pre-season outing in Buenos Aires at the weekend.

Ledesma's charges will depart to Cape Town on Tuesday, February 6, for their opening match of the season - against the Stormers on February 17.

The scorers:

For the Jaguares:
Delguy 2, Montoya, Fortuny, Álvarez
Cons: Sánchez, Bonilla

For Argentina XV:
Montagner, Bruni
Con: Granella


Jaguares: 15 Emiliano Boffelli, 14 Bautista Delguy, 13 Santiago Álvarez, 12 Bautista Ezcurra, 11 Ramiro Moyano, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Pablo Matera (captain), 5 Matías Alemanno, 4 Benjamín Macome, 3 Juan Pablo Zeiss, 2 Julián Montoya, 1 Felipe Arregui.
Replacements - from: Santiago García Botta, Nicolás Leiva, Diego Fortuny, Guido Petti, Tomás Lavanini, Javier Ortega Desio, Juan Manuel Leguizamón, Tomás Lezana, Felipe Ezcurra, Martín Landajo, Juan Martín Hernández, Joaquín Diaz Bonilla, Matías Orlando, Santiago González Iglesias, Joaquín Tuculet.

Argentina XV: 15 Gastón Arias, 14 Germán Schulz, 13 Juan Cruz Mallía, 12 Juan Cappiello, 11 Rodrigo Etchart, 10 Juan Cruz González, 9 Luca Magnasco, 8 Santiago Montagner, 7 Lautaro Bavaro (captain), 6 Tomás de la Vega, 5 Ignacio Larrague, 4 Jerónimo Ureta, 3 Benjamín Espinal, 2 Axel Zapata, 1 Francisco Ferronato.
Replacements - from: Díaz, Baldunciel, Favre, Molina, Galetto, Romanini, Bruni, Portillo, Nogueira, Granella, Domínguez, Mensa, Resino, Malanos, Medrano, Gorrisen, Sbrocco, Elías y Videla.

There are currently no matches being played
Mon, 19 February 2018
NMMU-Madibaz v Wits 14h45 Port Elizabeth
Maties v CUT-Ixias 16h30 Cape Town
UCT-Ikeys v Shimlas 16h30 Cape Town
NWU-Pukke v UJ 17h00 Potchefstroom
Fri, 23 February 2018
Dragons v Edinburgh 22h00 Rodney Parade
Highlanders v Blues 06h35 Dunedin
Rebels v Reds 08h45 Melbourne
Munster v Glasgow Warriors 19h00 Irish Independent Park
Scarlets v Ulster 19h35 Parc y Scarlets
Leinster v Kings 19h35 RDS
France v Italy 20h00 Paris
Sat, 24 February 2018
Sunwolves v Brumbies 04h15 Tokyo
Crusaders v Chiefs 06h35 Christchurch
Waratahs v Stormers 08h45 Allianz Park
Treviso v Connacht 12h00 Stadio Monigo
Bath v Sale Sharks 12h30 Recreation Ground
Lions v Jaguares 13h05 Johannesburg
Exeter Chiefs v Northampton Saints 14h00 Sandy Park
Ireland v Wales 14h15 Aviva Stadium
Gloucester v Wasps 14h30 Kingsholm
Harlequins v Newcastle Falcons 15h00 Twickenham Stoop
Bulls v Hurricanes 15h15 Loftus Versfeld
Scotland v England 16h45 BT Murrayfield
Ospreys v Cheetahs 17h30 Liberty Stadium
Sun, 25 February 2018
London Irish v Worcester Warriors 13h00 Madejski Stadium
Zebre v Cardiff Blues 13h00 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
Saracens v Leicester Tigers 15h30 Allianz Park
Pool AU
Team P W D L Pts
Brumbies 0 0 0 0 0
Reds 0 0 0 0 0
Waratahs 0 0 0 0 0
Sunwolves 0 0 0 0 0
Rebels 0 0 0 0 0
Pool NZ
Team P W D L Pts
Crusaders 0 0 0 0 0
Hurricanes 0 0 0 0 0
Chiefs 0 0 0 0 0
Highlanders 0 0 0 0 0
Blues 0 0 0 0 0
Pool SA
Team P W D L Pts
Stormers 1 1 0 0 4
Lions 1 1 0 0 4
Sharks 1 0 0 1 1
Bulls 0 0 0 0 0
Jaguares 1 0 0 1 0