Injuries force Reds to change for Lions clash

Thu, 26 Apr 2018 05:55

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: The Reds have made four personnel changes to their XV for their clash against the Lions in Brisbane.

Veteran flank George Smith, young wing Jordan Petaia, prop Jean-Pierre Smith and flyhalf Hamish Stewart getting the starting nod for the first time this season.
Regular starters James Slipper and Jono lance have been ruled out of the match due to injury.
Impressive Reds centre Samu Kerevi has been named captain, with regular leader Scott Higginbotham and stand-in skipper Slipper injured.
George Smith, who made his return from a back injury via the bench last weekend, has been promoted to the starting line-up ahead of youngster Liam Wright, who has dropped out of the matchday 23.
Petaia, who recently became the Reds' youngest-ever Super Rugby debutant, has earned his first Super Rugby start on the wing, ahead of Izaia Perese, who has shifted to the bench.
Jean-Pierre Smith, in his run-on debut for Queensland, has been brought into the starting side to replace Slipper, who has been ruled out due to a collar bone injury sustained against the Waratahs two weeks ago.
Stewart has been promoted in place of Lance, who is still recovering from a concussion suffered in last weekend's match. The match will be Stewart's first start in Super Rugby.
The Reds have also made a number of changes to the bench, with Dalby's Harry Hoopert named for a potential Queensland and Super Rugby debut.
The 19-year-old prop from Toowoomba Grammar School is in his first year of Super Rugby after helping Queensland Under-20s to back-to-back Super U20s Championships in 2016 and 2017.
Flank Adam Korczyk has also been brought back into the reserves, taking the place made available by George Smith's promotion.
Centre Duncan Paia'aua also returns to the matchday 23 for the first time since Round Six.

Reds: 15 Aidan Toua, 14 Filipo Daugunu, 13 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 12 Samu Kerevi (captain), 11 Jordan Petaia, 10 Hamish Stewart, 9 Ben Lucas, 8 Caleb Timu, 7 George Smith, 6 Angus Scott-Young, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 Jean-Pierre Smith.   
Replacements: 16 Alex Mafi, 17 Harry Hoopert, 18 Ruan Smith, 19 Harry Hockings, 20 Adam Korczyk, 21 Moses Sorovi, 22 Duncan Paia'aua , 23 Izaia Perese. 

Date: Saturday, April 28
Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Kick-off: 15.05 (07.05 SA time; 05.05 GMT)
Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant referees: Nic Berry (Australia), Damon Murphy (Australia)
TMO: Damien Mitchelmore (Australia)

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 01 June 2018
Highlanders v Hurricanes 07h35 Dunedin
Sat, 02 June 2018
Blues v Rebels 05h15 Eden Park
Chiefs v Crusaders 07h35 Hamilton
Reds v Waratahs 09h45 Suncorp Stadium
Wales v South Africa 21h00 RFK Stadium
Sun, 03 June 2018
Brumbies v Sunwolves 06h05 Canberra
Pool AU
Team P W D L Pts
Waratahs 12 6 1 5 31
Rebels 12 6 0 6 30
Brumbies 12 4 0 8 20
Reds 11 4 0 7 18
Sunwolves 12 2 0 10 10
Pool NZ
Team P W D L Pts
Crusaders 13 11 0 2 50
Hurricanes 12 10 0 2 45
Chiefs 12 8 0 4 37
Highlanders 11 7 0 4 32
Blues 12 3 0 9 17
Pool SA
Team P W D L Pts
Lions 14 7 0 6 40
Jaguares 13 8 0 5 34
Sharks 13 5 1 7 28
Stormers 14 5 0 9 25
Bulls 13 5 0 8 24