Brumbies bring in a playmaker for Rebels clash

Thu, 10 May 2018 07:46
Large christian lealiifano brumbies 2018 800

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Four changes are made to the Brumbies starting XV for the crunch match against the Melbourne Rebels at GIO Stadium on Saturday.

Christian Lealiifano, Lachlan McCaffrey and Rob Valetini return to bolster the Brumbies team.
Lealiifano slots into the inside centre role alongside Tevita Kuridrani, who is winning his 99th Brumbies Super Rugby cap, as head coach Dan McKellar switches two in the pack and two in the backs.
There's a welcome, and timely, return from injury for two of the team’s backrowers as young gun Rob Valetini packs down at No.8, featuring for the first time since he was taken off injured in the season opener against the Sunwolves in Tokyo back in February.
Valetini is joined by flank Lachlan McCaffrey, the experienced forward having recovered from an elbow injury sustained in the clash with the Reds at GIO Stadium which forced him to miss three matches.
This duo are joined by Tom Cusack in the back row whilst the remainder of the pack, the tight five, is the same as took to the field against the Crusaders in the team's last outing. Sam Carter and Rory Arnold are a solid and dependable lock pairing behind a settled front row of Scott Sio, Folau Fainga'a and Allan Alaalatoa.
In the backs, there's a return to the starting side for Andrew Muirhead, his first start since playing at fullback against the Waratahs and a maiden outing on the left wing, selected in place of Chance Peni.
With Wallabies international Lealiifano also back in the fold, the youthful halfback pairing of Joe Powell and Wharenui Hawera have more experience outside them with the rest of the backline seeing Henry Speight on the right wing and the dynamic Tom Banks at fullback.
The replacements bench sees two modifications from the last outing against the Crusaders with Blake Enever dropping to the finishers in place of Darcy Swain and Lausii Taliauli brought in with Muirhead promoted.
The last time the Brumbies met the Rebels at GIO Stadium, the home side triumphed 32-3 with the Rebels winning the last clash between the teams in Round Five earlier this season.

Brumbies: 15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Christian Lealiifano, 11 Andy Muirhead, 10 Wharenui Hawera, 9 Joe Powell, 8 Rob Valetini, 7 Tom Cusack, 6 Lachlan Mccaffrey, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Folau Fainga'a, 1 Scott Sio.  
Replacements: 16 Robbie Abel, 17 Faalelei Sione, 18 Ben Alexander, 19 Blake Enever, 20 Lolo Fakaosilea, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Jordan Jackson-Hope, 23 Lausii Taliauli.

Date: Saturday, May 12
Venue: GIO Stadium, Canberra
Kick-off: 19.45 (09.45 GMT)
Referee: Nic Berry (Australia) 
Assistant referees: Will Houston (Australia), Jordan Way (Australia)
TMO: Damien Mitchelmore (Australia) 

Chiefs vs Waratahs
sast: 09h35 | local: 19h35

  • 19 | 14
Sat, 26 May 2018
Reds v Highlanders 09h45 Suncorp Stadium
Bulls v Brumbies 13h05 Loftus Versfeld
Exeter Chiefs v Saracens 14h00 London
Stormers v Lions 15h15 Newlands
Leinster v Scarlets 17h00 Dublin
Fri, 01 June 2018
Highlanders v Hurricanes 07h35 Dunedin
Sat, 02 June 2018
Blues v Rebels 05h15 Eden Park
Pool AU
Team P W D L Pts
Waratahs 11 6 1 4 31
Rebels 12 6 0 6 30
Reds 11 4 0 7 18
Brumbies 11 3 0 8 16
Sunwolves 12 2 0 10 10
Pool NZ
Team P W D L Pts
Crusaders 13 11 0 2 50
Hurricanes 12 10 0 2 45
Highlanders 11 7 0 4 32
Chiefs 11 7 0 4 32
Blues 12 3 0 9 17
Pool SA
Team P W D L Pts
Lions 13 7 0 6 36
Jaguares 13 8 0 5 34
Sharks 13 5 1 7 28
Bulls 12 5 0 7 24
Stormers 13 5 0 8 23