Tuks edge resilient Maties

Mon, 30 Jan 2017 20:07
Large tuks v maties 2017

VARSITY CUP REPORT: UP-Tuks were forced to dig deep as they left it late to secure a 13-9 victory against Maties at Loftus Versfeld.

In a wet Pretoria outfield, a try by Tinus de Beer in the 74th minute proved to be the difference between the sides in an epic see-saw battle.

The wet conditions proved to be a huge obstacle for both teams as they tried to keep their hands on the ball in front of a good turnout of supporters, and after 10 minutes of play, the scoreline remained deadlocked.

However, before the 20th minute approached, Maties broke the deadlocked with a successful penalty kick by Ernst Stapelberg, 3-0.

Trailing really shock the home side into action and after 10 minutes of relentless pressure, their efforts were finally rewarded thanks to their hard-working No.8 Chris Massyn, who crossed the white chalk for the 5-pointer, 5-3.

The narrow lead was shortlived as UP-Tuks ill-discipline kept Maties in the match. Again they conceded a penalty and Stapelberg was all too happy to oblige with his successful penalty kick in the 38th minute, 6-5.

Maties took the narrow 6-5 lead into the break.

As the teams emerged from the break, the rain started settling into a light drizzle with much of the proceedings happening between the 22s. Both teams were awarded penalties, Tuks flyhalf De Beer slotted over his kick. Soon followed by Stapelberg who was successful with his kick.

And after 65 minutes of play, the score was swayed in favour of the men in maroon, 9-8.

With 10 minutes left on the clock, it seemed that Loftus was about to experience a maroon Monday, but a great try by the reliable Tuks flyhalf De Beer saved the day.  

The final score 13-9 in favour of Tuks.

The Scorers:

For UP-Tuks
Massyn, De Beer
Pen: De Beer

For Maties
: Ernst Stapelberg 3

UP-Tuks: 15 Divan Rossouw, 14 Dewald Naude, 13 Toko Maebane, 12 Impi Visser, 11 Keanan van Wyk, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Theo Maree, 8 Chris Massyn, 7 Marco van Staden, 6 Ruan Steenkamp (captain), 5 Eli Snyman, 4 Aston Fortuin, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Jan-Henning Campher, 1 Andrew Beerwinkel.
Replacements: 16 Theuns Reynolds, 17 Jaco Holtzhausen, 18 Brian Leitch, 19 Eduan Lubbe, 20 Raegen Oranje, 21 Christo Hamman, 22 Mervano da Silva, 23 Franco van den Berg

Maties: 15 Craig Barry, 14 Duncan Saal, 13 Kyle Steyn, 12 Braam Venter, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Ernst Stapelberg, 9 Paul de Wet, 8 Devon Nash, 7 Kobus van Dyk, 6 Beyers de Villiers (captain), 5 Johan Momsen, Ernst van Rhyn, 3 Jacobus van der Merwe, 2 Freddie Kirsten 1 Wesley Adonis.
Replacements: 16 Craig Corbett, 17 Niel Oelofse, 18 Janco Venter, 19 Mitchell Carstens, 20 Logan Boonzaaier, 21 Chris Smith, 22 Ryan Muller, 23 Wikus Groenewald.

Referee: Jaco Pretorius
Assistant referees: Local

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 25 May 2018
Crusaders v Hurricanes 07h35 Christchurch
Rebels v Sunwolves 09h45 Melbourne
Jaguares v Sharks 19h40 Estadio Jose Amalfitani
Sat, 26 May 2018
Chiefs v Waratahs 07h35 Hamilton
Reds v Highlanders 09h45 Suncorp Stadium
Bulls v Brumbies 13h05 Loftus Versfeld
Exeter Chiefs v Saracens 14h00 London
Stormers v Lions 15h15 Newlands
Leinster v Scarlets 17h00 Dublin
Team P W D L Pts
Maties 8 6 2 0 34
NWU-Pukke 8 6 1 1 33
UJ 8 5 1 2 27
Wits 8 4 1 3 25
Shimlas 8 5 0 3 24
UCT-Ikeys 8 4 0 4 21
UP-Tuks 8 2 1 5 15
CUT-Ixias 8 1 0 7 8
NMMU-Madibaz 8 0 0 8 4