UCT-Ikeys shock Shimlas

Mon, 13 Feb 2017 19:00
Large uct v shimlas 800

VARSITY CUP REPORT: UCT-Ikey Tigers caused a big shock in the Varsity Cup as they recorded a 22-7 win against Shimlas in Bloemfontein.

Shimlas headed into this match as clear favourites, however the Cape Town side had other plans.

In muddy and wet conditions UCT managed to score three tries, compared to Shimlas' solo try.

UCT came out guns blazing and were rewarded with a penalty. However, Lohan Lubbe's attempt was unsuccessful and the score remained deadlocked at 0-0.

The home side's nervy start worsened as they were soon forced to play with 14 men. Lock Ruben Schoeman was given his marching orders for 10 minutes.

UCT soon capitalise on the numerical advantage.

Centre Hendrik Lategan scored a 7-point try after great work in their own half. Unfortunately for UCT, they failed to add the extras and headed with a 7-0 lead to the lockers.

Shimlas really struggled to take control of the game as the wet ball proved troublesome for the home team.   

UCT extended their lead soon after as hooker Cuan Hablutzel burst over the line for his side. Two unanswered tries ensured UCT held a 12-0 lead after 60 minutes of play.

The hero hooker soon turned villain as he was sin-binned.

The 14-men UCT defence eventually caved and Shimlas scored their first try of the match. Frederick Mason slotted over the extra two points to narrow the score, 7-12.

As they started to creep back into the game, Shimlas' discipline cost them dearly. The Bloemfontein students gave away a kickable penalty and UCT capitalised. 15-7 with 10 minutes left on the clock.  

Rayno Mapoe eventually put the game to rest, as the UCT wing scored the final try of the match. Lubbe slotted over the extra two points.

The full-time score 22-7 in favour of UCT-Ikey Tigers.

The Scorers:

For Shimlas
Con: Mason

For UCT-Ikey Tigers
Lategan, Hablutzel, Mapoe    
Con: Lubbe
Pen: Lubbe

Yellow Cards: Ruben Schoeman (Shimlas, 11), Cuan Hablutzel (UCT, 62)


Shimlas: 15 Sechaba Motsoela, 14 Carel-Jan Coetzee, 13 Lihleli Xoli, 12 Stephan Janse van Rensburg (captain), 11 Frederick Mason, 10 Nicholas Naude, 9 Dian Badenhorst, 8 Albertus Erasmus, 7 Musa Mahlesa, 6 Daniel Maartens, 5 Neil Claassen, 4 Ruben Schoeman, 3 Cornelius Kramer, 2 Hanno Snyman, 1 Thabiso Msiza.
Replacements: 16 Albrecht Steyn, 17 Johan Kotze, 18 Kwenzokuhle Blose, 19 Raymond Woest, 20 Phumzile Maqondwana, 21 Albertus Pretorius, 22  Sango Xamlashe, 23 Niell Stannard.

UCT-Ikeys: 15 Lohan Lubbe, 14 Rayno Mapoe, 13 Tristan Mouton, 12 Rico Lategan, 11 Joel Smith, 10 Robert Anderson, 9 Stefano de Gouveia, 8 Nyasha Tarusenga, 7 Luke Stringer, 6 Kuyenzeka Xaba, 5 Duncan Saffy, 4 Gary Porter, 3 Michael Kumbirai, 2 Cuan Hablutzel, 1 Wayrin Losper.
Replacements: 16 Martin Chandler, 17 William Day, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 19 Sanele Malwane, 20 Alva Senderayi, 21 Matthew Redman, 22 Michael Henning, 23 Hilio de Abreu.

Referee: Lourens van der Merwe
Assistant referees: Local

Crusaders vs Force
sast: 08h35 | local: 19h35

  • 33 | 17
Fri, 24 March 2017
Rebels v Waratahs 08h45 Melbourne
Glasgow Warriors v Connacht 17h15 Scotstoun Stadium
Scarlets v Edinburgh 19h05 Parc y Scarlets
Dragons v Ulster 19h35 Rodney Parade
Treviso v Ospreys 19h35 Stadio Monigo
Sat, 25 March 2017
Blues v Bulls 06h35 Eden Park
Brumbies v Highlanders 08h45 Canberra
Sunwolves v Stormers 10h55 Singapore
Kings v Lions 13h05 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Zebre v Munster 14h00 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
Harlequins v Newcastle Falcons 15h00 Twickenham Stoop
Exeter Chiefs v Sale Sharks 15h00 Sandy Park
Saracens v Bath 15h00 Allianz Park
Northampton Saints v Leicester Tigers 15h00 Franklin's Gardens
Leinster v Cardiff Blues 15h00 RDS Arena
Cheetahs v Blues 15h15 Bloemfontein
Treviso v Ospreys 19h35 Stadio Monigo
Jaguares v Reds 21h40 Buenos Aires
Sun, 26 March 2017
Wasps v Worcester Warriors 14h30 Ricoh Arena
Bristol v Gloucester 15h00 Ashton Gate
Mon, 27 March 2017
NWU-Pukke v UP-Tuks 14h45 Potchefstroom
Fort Hare v UKZN-Impi 16h30 Davidson Stadium
Wits v UCT-Ikeys 16h30 Johannesburg
NMMU-Madibaz v CUT-Ixias 16h30 Bloemfontein
UWC v WSU 16h30 Cape Town
Maties v UJ 17h00 Stellenbosch
Pool CUP
Team P W D L Pts
UP-Tuks 7 6 0 1 29
Maties 7 6 0 1 29
UJ 7 5 0 2 25
Shimlas 8 5 0 3 23
NWU-Pukke 7 4 0 3 18
Wits 7 3 0 4 16
UCT-Ikeys 7 2 0 5 9
NMMU-Madibaz 7 1 0 6 6
CUT-Ixias 7 0 0 7 3
Team P W D L Pts
UWC 6 5 0 1 27
Fort Hare 6 4 0 2 20
UKZN-Impi 6 4 0 2 20
WSU 6 3 0 3 14
CPUT 6 2 0 4 10
TUT 6 2 0 4 9
Rhodes 6 1 0 5 6