Libbok's brace seals Tuks win

Mon, 13 Feb 2017 19:15
Large tuks v madibaz 800

VARSITY CUP REPORT: UP-Tuks proved too strong for Madibaz, as they secured a comfortable 33-16 win in Round Three of the Varsity Cup Monday.

The visitors scored five tries to one as they returned to action after their bye week.

Madibaz took an early lead thanks to Simon Bolze's boot. The flyhalf kicked an easy penalty after 7 minutes of action.

UP-Tuks soon eased into the match after a nervy start and began to enjoy more possession, which resulted in two tries within five minutes of play.

The first was scored by inside centre Impi Visser, who sliced through the defence. While the second was thanks to scrumhalf Theo Maree. Flyhalf Thinus de Beer was successful with both conversions.

And after 15 minutes of play, Tuks were leading 15-3.

Just before the break, the flyhalf showed some magic of his own as he extended his side's lead with a try and successful conversion, 21-3.

Madibaz emulated their first half approach. The visitors again opened the scoring courtesy of Bolze's boot. The flyhalf kicked over two successful penalties, 9-21.

The glimmer of hope was short-lived as Immanuel Libbok dotted down for Tuks.

The Madibaz managed to finally break the Tuks' defence, thanks to the determination of lock Gerrit Huisamen who scored his team's only try.

However, despite the Madibaz' efforts, Tuks were just the better team. As Libbok dotted down for his second try of the match to seal a 33-16 victory.

The scorers:

For Madibaz:
Con: Bolze
Pens: Bolze 3

For UP-Tuks
Visser, Maree, De Beer, Libbok 2
Cons: De Beer 3, Stander


NMMU-Madibaz: 15 Lindelwe Zungu, 14 Jixie Molapo, 13 Siphumelele Msutwana, 12 Somila Jho, 11 Athenkosi Mayinje, 10 Simon Bolze, 9 Lovu Claassen, 8 Kevin Kaba (captain), 7 Henry Brown, 6 Stephanus Nieuwoudt, 5 Gerrit Huisamen, 4 Janse Roux, 3 James Beyl, 2 JP Jamieson, 1 Nicolaas Oosthuizen.
Replacements: 16 Jedwin Harty, 17 Xandre Vos, 18 Nicolas Roebeck, 19 Robert Izaks20 Jayson Reinecke, 21 Rouche Nel, 22 Jordan Koekemoer, 23 Ivan-John du Preez.

UP-Tuks: 15 Divan Rossouw, 14 Dewald Naude, 13 Toko Maebane, 12 Impi Visser, 11 Sibahle Maxwane, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Theo Maree, 8 Clyde Davids, 7 Chris Massyn, 6 Eduan Lubbe, 5 Brian Leitch, 4 Aston Fortuin, 3 Johan Fouche, 2 Jan-Henning Campher, 1 Andrew Beerwinkel.
Replacements: 16 Theuns Reynolds, 17 Jaco Holtzhausen, 18 Marius Verwey, 19 Juan Swanepoel, 20 Raegan Oranje, 21 Joshua Stander, 22 Immanuel Libbok, 23 Franco van den Berg.

Referee: Jaco Pretorius
Assistant referees: Local

There are currently no matches being played
Sat, 21 April 2018
Ulster v Glasgow Warriors 17h05 Kingspan Stadium
Sun, 22 April 2018
Brumbies v Jaguares 06h05 Canberra
Racing Metro v Munster 14h15 Paris
Fri, 27 April 2018
Munster v Ulster 22h00 Thomond Park
Kings v Cheetahs 22h00 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Treviso v Zebre 22h00 Stadio Monigo
Dragons v Scarlets 22h00 Rodney Parade
Edinburgh v Glasgow Warriors 22h00 Myreside
Cardiff Blues v Ospreys 22h00 Cardiff Arms Park
Connacht v Leinster 22h00 Sportsground
Worcester Warriors v Harlequins 22h00 Sixways
Wasps v Northampton Saints 22h00 Ricoh Arena
London Irish v Saracens 22h00 Madejski Stadium
Leicester Tigers v Newcastle Falcons 22h00 Welford Road
Gloucester v Bath 22h00 Kingsholm
Exeter Chiefs v Sale Sharks 22h00 Sandy Park
Hurricanes v Sunwolves 07h35 Wellington
Stormers v Rebels 13h00 Newlands
Sat, 28 April 2018
Reds v Lions 05h05 Suncorp Stadium
Blues v Jaguares 07h35 Eden Park
Brumbies v Crusaders 09h45 Canberra
Bulls v Highlanders 15h15 Loftus Versfeld
Team P W D L Pts
Maties 8 6 2 0 34
NWU-Pukke 8 6 1 1 33
UJ 8 5 1 2 27
Wits 8 4 1 3 25
Shimlas 8 5 0 3 24
UCT-Ikeys 8 4 0 4 21
UP-Tuks 8 2 1 5 15
CUT-Ixias 8 1 0 7 8
NMMU-Madibaz 8 0 0 8 4