Shimlas reign supreme in Bloem derby

Tue, 21 Feb 2017 13:18
Large cut v shimlas 800

VARSITY CUP REPORT: Shimlas were forced to dig deep for a hard-fought 22-13 victory over CUT-Ixias in Bloemfontein.

Fresh from a 7-22 defeat to UCT, Shimlas came into the match fully aware of the unpredictable nature of CUT-Ixias and the tournament.

And it proved truthful as Tiaan Liebenberg's troops took a 13-9 lead at the break. However, Shimlas were adamant not to emulate last week's performance and the visitors' second half display produced 13-points, which eventually secured them the victory.

The scoring was opened with an exchange of early penalties between Shimlas' Marco Mason and CUT's Martin Jacobs to level matters at 3-all after 10 minutes of play.

However, five minutes later Mason stretched his side's lead with another successful penalty, 6-3 after 15 minutes.

Before the strategic break CUT were penalised again. Without any hesitation, Shimlas' captain Stephan Janse van Rensburg pointed to the posts and Mason extended Shimlas' lead to 9-3.

CUT hit back in style when the home side's scrumhalf Ruben Haymans dotted over the chalk for the first try of the match. Jacobs' successful conversion handed CUT a narrow 10-9 lead.

After conceding, Shimlas' defence began to panic and conceded a penalty in front of their posts. This made it easy for CUT's flyhalf Jacobs to extend his side's lead to 13-9 in this see-saw battle.   

As the second half commenced, Shimlas came out with more intent. Their resilience and consistent grinding were rewarded in the 56th minute when flank Pumzile Maqondwana went over for Shimlas' first try. Mason added the extra two to hand the lead back to Shimlas, 16-13.  

Within 10 minutes CUT's hopes of snatching the match faded as the home team's ill-discipline cost them dearly, conceding two kickable penalties which Shimlas' Mason took full advantage of to seal the match. 

The scorers:

For CUT:
Con: Jacobs
Pens: Jacobs 2

For Shimlas:
Con: Mason
Pens: Mason 5

CUT-Ixias: 15 Darren Adonis, 14 Ruan Wasserman, 13 Waldo Putter, 12 Louis Nel, 11 Olwethu Ndakisa, 10 Martin Jacobs, 9 Ruben Heymans, 8 Stefan Kruger, 7 Cornelius van Niekerk, 6 Dean Rossouw, 5 Pieter Venter, 4 Kian Skippers, 3 Hendrik Smit, 2 Stefan Jacobs, 1 Jean Volkwyn.
Replacements: 16 Andries Olivier, 17 Stefan van Schalkwyk, 18 Kyle Ess, 19 Mosoeu Maruping, 20 Dian Dry, 21 Dean Jacobs, 22 Denver Kleu, 23 Brendan Verster.

Shimlas: 15 Sechaba Motsoela, 14 Carel-Jan Coetzee, 13 Lihleli Xoli, 12 Stephan Janse van Rensburg (captain), 11 Frederick Mason, 10 Nicholas Naude, 9 Dian Badenhorst, 8 Wilhelm Kotzenberg, 7 Phumzile Maqondwana, 6 Daniel Maartens, 5 Neil Claassen, 4 Raymond Woest, 3 Cornelius Kramer, 2 Hanno Snyman, 1 Kwenzokuhle Blose.
Replacements: 16 Albrecht Steyn, 17 Johan Kotze, 18 Thabisdo Msiza, 19 Ruben Schoeman, 20 Musa Mahlasela, 21 Albertus Pretorius, 22 Vuyani Maqina, 23 Niell Stannard.

Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant referees: Local
TMO: JJ Wagner

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 01 June 2018
Highlanders v Hurricanes 07h35 Dunedin
Sat, 02 June 2018
Blues v Rebels 05h15 Eden Park
Chiefs v Crusaders 07h35 Hamilton
Reds v Waratahs 09h45 Suncorp Stadium
Wales v South Africa 21h00 RFK Stadium
Sun, 03 June 2018
Brumbies v Sunwolves 06h05 Canberra
Team P W D L Pts
Maties 8 6 2 0 34
NWU-Pukke 8 6 1 1 33
UJ 8 5 1 2 27
Wits 8 4 1 3 25
Shimlas 8 5 0 3 24
UCT-Ikeys 8 4 0 4 21
UP-Tuks 8 2 1 5 15
CUT-Ixias 8 1 0 7 8
NMMU-Madibaz 8 0 0 8 4