UJ hold off Madibaz

Mon, 06 Mar 2017 19:02
Large uj vs madibaz 800

VARSITY CUP REPORT: UJ were forced to dig deep to secure a 36-28 win over a resilient Madibaz side in Johannesburg.

UJ scored five tries while Madibaz scored four to secure a losing bonus-point on the road.

After 15 minutes of play, UJ were the first on the board courtesy of a well-rounded try by Nico Du Plessis. Divan Nel added the extras, 7-0.

Nel's boot extended the lead just after the strategic break when Madibaz gave away a kickable penalty to the home side, 10-0.

The home side scored yet another try when Waldo Weideman crossed the chalk after a good rolling maul inside the Madibaz' half. Nel added the extras, 17-0 after 37 minutes of play.

With three minutes left in the first half, the visitors were determined to get back in the game and their determination was rewarded with a try by flyhalf Thomas Kean.

Madibaz trailed 5-17 at half-time.

Madibaz came out with more intent and within five minutes of the second half, crawled their way back as two unanswered tries levelled matters at 17-all.

For the first time in the match, Madibaz took the lead after a successful conversion by Kean.

However, the celebration was shortlived as Johan Esterhuizen crossed the whitewash to shift the lead back in the hands of UJ. Nel yet again solid with the conversion to make the score 26-19 after 51 minutes of play.

Just minutes after the hour mark, Nel extended the deficit with a successful penalty, 29-19.

With two minutes left on the clock, there was still lots of action in this encounter. UJ wing Godfrey Ramaboea added his name to the scoresheet with a try, while Nel added the extras 36-19.

With one minute left on the clock, it was the visitors who had the final say as a try and conversion narrowed the gap and secured them a losing bonus-point.

The scorers:

For UJ:
: Du Plessis, Esterhuizen, Weidemann, Ramaboea, TBC
Cons: Nel 3
Pens: Nel 2

For Madibaz:
: Kean, Oosthuizen, TBC, TBC
Cons: Kean 2


UJ: 15 Ewan Adams, 14 Peter John Walters, 13 Aphiwe Dyanty, 12 Jaco Fourie, 11 Godfrey Ramaboea, 10 Divan Nel, 9 Johan Esterhuizen, 8 Leon Massyn, 7 Adrian Bester, 6 Wian Conradie, 5 Reinhaardt Nothnagel, 4 Kevin Du Randt, 3 Nico Du Plessis, 2 Jannes Snyman (captain), 1 Waldo Weideman.
Replacements: 16 Le Roux Baard, 17 Kyle Kruger, 18 Chergin Fillies, 19 Jo Hanko De Villiers, 20 Siyabonga Luwaca, 21 Devon Mare, 22 Johann Vermaak, 23 Carlisle Jordan.

Madibaz: 15 Lindelwu Zungu, 14 Athenkozi Mayinje, 13 Siphumelele Msutwana, 12 Andile Jho, 11 Ivan-John Du Preez, 10 Thomas Kean, 9 Rouche Nel, 8 Kevin Kaba (Captain), 7 Henry Brown, 6 Stephanus Nieuwoudt, 5 Gerrit Huisamen, 4 Wynand Grassmann, 3 Nicholas Oosthuizen, 2 Jean-Pierre Jamieson, 1 Xandre Vos.
Replacements: 16 Jedwyn Harty, 17 Thembelihle Yase, 18 Nicolas Roebeck, 19 Ryeno Du Toit, 20 Justin Hollis, 21  Lovu Claassen, 22 Simon Bolze, 23 Jixie Molapo.

Referee: Lourens van der Merwe
Assistant referees: Local

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 25 May 2018
Jaguares v Sharks 19h40 Estadio Jose Amalfitani
Sat, 26 May 2018
Chiefs v Waratahs 07h35 Hamilton
Reds v Highlanders 09h45 Suncorp Stadium
Bulls v Brumbies 13h05 Loftus Versfeld
Exeter Chiefs v Saracens 14h00 London
Stormers v Lions 15h15 Newlands
Leinster v Scarlets 17h00 Dublin
Fri, 01 June 2018
Highlanders v Hurricanes 07h35 Dunedin
Team P W D L Pts
Maties 8 6 2 0 34
NWU-Pukke 8 6 1 1 33
UJ 8 5 1 2 27
Wits 8 4 1 3 25
Shimlas 8 5 0 3 24
UCT-Ikeys 8 4 0 4 21
UP-Tuks 8 2 1 5 15
CUT-Ixias 8 1 0 7 8
NMMU-Madibaz 8 0 0 8 4