Madibaz win as CUT see red

Mon, 27 Mar 2017 19:24
Large madibaz v cut 800

VARSITY CUP REPORT: Madibaz ended their campaign on a high note by recording an impressive 40-14 win over CUT in Bloemfontein.

In what was dubbed the battle of the basement dwellers, but the Madibaz made sure they avoided the wooden spoon as the win enabled them to leapfrog into the seventh spot on the log.

It started off as a tight contest as Madibaz managed to take just a 3-0 lead through a successful Simon Bolze penalty before the strategy break.

However, the Madibaz raced to the victory after the CUT were reduced to 14 men after just 25 minutes of play. The prop Chrisjan du Toit received a red card and was forced to head to the showers early.

Madibaz took advantage of their extra man on the field, and with three minutes left of the first half CUT's defence folded, as Nicholas Oosthuizen crossed over the chalk for a try. Bolze added the extras, 10-0.

As the second half commenced, CUT dug deep and were soon rewarded with a try of their own to trail 7-10.

Despite Tiaan Liebenberg's troops' resilience, it was just too big a task for them as Madibaz put their foot on the gas.

In the 62nd-minute, wing Athenkozi Mayinje ran from his own half to score a seven-point try for his side. Bolze added the extras to extend the lead to 26-7.

Six minutes later, replacement Henry Brown also added his name to the scoresheet as he dotted down for a try. This time centre Thomas Kean added the extras, 33-7

With two minutes left on the clock, the action was still far from over. Jixie Molapo scored Madibaz's fifth try, while Kean added the extras. 40-7.

However, with 60 seconds left on the clock, Ruan Wasserman scored a consolation try for CUT. Flyhalf Martin Jacobs added the extras as his side ended the competition without registering a win. 

The scorers:

For CUT-Ixias:
Wasserman, TBC
Cons: Jacobs, TBC

For NMMU-Madibaz:
Tries: Oosthuizen, Mayinje, Brown, Molapo   
Cons: Bolze 2, Kean 2
Pen: Bolze

Red Card: Chrisjan du Toit (CUT, 25)

CUT-Ixias: Ruan Wasserman, 14 Toolo Mosego, 13 Gert Cronje, 12 Ruben Heymans, 11 Koki Moganeng, 10 Martin Jacobs, 9 Dean Jacobs, 8 Stefan Kruger, 7 Vincent Maruping, 6 Jean Small, 5 BrendanVerster, 4 Andre Venter, 3 Chrisjan du Toit, 2 Henco Smit, 1 Kabous van Schalkwyk.
Replacements: 16 Stefan Jacobs, 17 Kyle Ess, 18 Francois du Toit, 19 Kian Skippers, 20 Sylvester Makakole, 21 Frans Hugo, 22 Olwethu Ndakisa, 23 Denver Kleu.

NMMU-Madibaz: 15 Lindelwe Zungu, 14 Ivan-John du Preez, 13 Thomas Kean, 12 Andile Jho (captain), 11 Athenkosi Mayinje, 10 Simon Bolze, 9 Rouche Nel, 8 Justin Hollis, 7 Wynand Grassmann, 6 Stephanus Nieuwoudt, 5 Gerrit Huisamen, 4 Ryeno du Toit, 3 Nicolas Oosthuizen, 2 Jean-Pierre Jamieson, 1 Xandre Vos.
Replacements: 16 Nathan Gogela, 17 Ronnie Beyl, 18 Nicolas Roebeck, 19 Hayden Tharrat, 20 Henry Brown, 21 Luvo Claassen, 22 Siphumele Msutwana, 23 Jixie Molapo.

Referee: Stephan Geldenhuys
Assistant referee: Local

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 22 September 2017
Free State Cheetahs v Pumas 15h30 Bloemfontein
Cheetahs v Leinster 18h00 Bloemfontein
Ulster v Dragons 18h35 Kingspan Stadium
Glasgow Warriors v Munster 18h35 Scotstoun Stadium
Gloucester v Worcester Warriors 18h45 Kingsholm
Treviso v Ospreys 19h35 Stadio Monigo
Sat, 23 September 2017
Sharks v Blue Bulls 13h00 Durban
Bath v Newcastle Falcons 14h00 Recreation Ground
Saracens v Sale Sharks 14h00 Allianz Park
Harlequins v Leicester Tigers 14h00 Twickenham Stoop
Connacht v Cardiff Blues 14h15 Sportsground
Western Province v Griquas 15h15 Newlands
Kings v Zebre 17h35 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Scarlets v Edinburgh 18h35 Parc y Scarlets
Sun, 24 September 2017
London Irish v Northampton Saints 13h00 Madejski Stadium
Exeter Chiefs v Wasps 14h00 Sandy Park
Pool CUP
Team P W D L Pts
UP-Tuks 8 7 0 1 34
Maties 8 7 0 1 34
UJ 8 5 0 3 25
Shimlas 8 5 0 3 23
Wits 8 4 0 4 21
NWU-Pukke 8 4 0 4 19
NMMU-Madibaz 8 2 0 6 11
UCT-Ikeys 8 2 0 6 9
CUT-Ixias 8 0 0 8 3
Team P W D L Pts
UWC 6 5 0 1 27
Fort Hare 6 4 0 2 20
UKZN-Impi 6 4 0 2 20
WSU 6 3 0 3 14
CPUT 6 2 0 4 10
TUT 6 2 0 4 9
Rhodes 6 1 0 5 6