Sorry there are no live games.
See what's coming up.
No games this week.
Full schedule >
Thu 8 Jun 2017 | 10:03

All change for Pumas against England

All change for Pumas against England
Thu 8 Jun 2017 | 10:03

All change for Pumas against England


Emiliano Boffelli will make his debut for Los Pumas as a wing.

Boffelli has been a regular choice for Buenos Aires-based Super Rugby outfit Jaguares, which is the sole source of players for national coach Daniel Hourcade.

Other backline changes – when compared to the team that last faced England inNovember a Twickenham, Martin Landajo and Nicolás Sánchez remain in the midfield.

Joaquín Tuculet and Jerónimo De la Fuente will join Boffelli in the back three.

Among the forwards, the changes include Enrique Pieretto (starting his first Test), the return of Tomás Lavanini, after his knee injury suffered against South Africa in the Rugby Championship 2016 and Juan Manuel Leguizamon at No.8.

Another injury-enforced absentee from the tour, prop Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, was named among the replacements.

An ageing Argentine icon, centre/flyhalf Juan Martin Hernández, will also start on the bench for the first of two Tests with Santa Fe hosting the second on June 17.

The team will be captain by hooker Agustín Creevy.

The Jaguares have been struggling in Super Rugby, losing six of the last seven matches, including three at home.

The Jaguares-only policy means the Pumas cannot call up Europe-based stars like wing Juan Imhoff and loose forwards Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe and Facundo Isa.

The Pumas have lost the last six Tests against the Red Roses – the most recent a 27-14 defeat in London last November.

Argentina: 15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Matias Moroni, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Martin Landajo, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 7 Javier Ortega Desio, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Matias Alemanno, 3 Enrique Pieretto, 2 Agustín Creevy (captain), 1Lucas Noguera Paz.
Replacements: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Santiago García Botta, 18 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 19 Guido Petti, 20 Leonardo Senatore, 21 Gonzalo Bertranou, 22 Juan Martin Hernández, 23 Ramiro Moyano.

Date: Saturday, June 10
Venue: Estadio San Juan del Bicentenario, San Juan
Kick-off: 16.15 (20.15 BST, 19.19 GMT)
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant referees: John Lacey (Ireland), Egon Seconds (South Africa)
TMO: Aaron Paterson (New Zealand)

PV: 2
All Change For Pumas Against England - Argentina | Rugby365