Wed 18 Jun 2014 | 09:34

Cotter turns to Gilchrist

Cotter turns to Gilchrist
Wed 18 Jun 2014 | 09:34

Cotter turns to Gilchrist


Scotland coach Vern Cotter turned to lock Grant Gilchrist to lead his depleted team in their one-of Test against Argentina in Cordoba on Friday.

Cotter rang the changes with just four players remaining from the team that narrowly beat Canada 19-17 in Toronto last week.

Edinburgh lock Gilchrist has been handed the captaincy role, despite having played just six Tests and never having captained his club.

"He has impressed me with his leadership qualities," Cotter said.

"He leads by example. Some captains are more at ease talking and organising whereas Gilcho is more adept at just getting on with it."

Gilchrist added: "It's a huge honour, one I'm really looking forward to.

"For me it's a boyhood dream. Of course there's massive responsibility, not just to this team, but to the entire country and Scotland fans throughout the world, but I'm really excited by it."

Gilchrist, Peter Horne, Sean Maitland and Stuart Hogg are the only players who lined up against Canada remaining along with replacements Blair Cowan, Kieran Low and Grayson Hart.

They are joined by eight players who flew directly to Argentina from Scotland.

Argentina lost their two Tests against Ireland 17-23 and 17-29, and Cotter is expecting a tough clash.

"We have to show teeth. We have to be able to attack from anywhere and we have to be able to dictate the pace and tempo of games. It's a challenge," he said.

"Argentina have to prepare for their Four Nations and they were much better in their second game against Ireland than in their first and they'll be looking for that same progression into the game against us."

Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Nick De Luca, 12 Peter Horne, 11 Tommy Seymour, 10 Duncan Weir, 9 Grayson Hart, 8 Kieran Low, 7 Blair Cowan, 6 Robert Harley, 5 Grant Gilchrist (captain), 4 Jonny Gray, 3 Geoff Cross, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Alasdair Dickinson.
Replacements: 16 Pat MacArthur, 17 Gordon Reid, 18 Jon Welsh, 19 Tim Swinson, 20 Chris Fusaro, 21 Henry Pyrgos, 22 Tom Heathcote, 23 Dougie Fife.

Date: Friday, June 20
Venue: Estadio Mario Alberto Kempes, Córdoba
Kick-off:  16.10 (19.10 GMT, 20.10 BST)
Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Pascal Gauzère (France), Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa)
TMO: Deon van Blommestein (South Africa)

PV: 14
Cotter Turns To Gilchrist - Argentina | Rugby365