Sorry there are no live games.
See what's coming up.
No games this week.
Full schedule >
Wed 11 Sep 2013 | 02:34

Genia axing confirmed

Genia axing confirmed
Wed 11 Sep 2013 | 02:34

Genia axing confirmed


Speculation surrounding the axing of scrumhalf Will Genia from the Wallaby team proved to be spot on.

Back row forward Ben Mowen will become Australia's 80th Test captain in Saturday's crucial Rugby Championship clash against Argentina at Patersons Stadium in Perth.

While it is a huge honour for the Brumbies leader, who earned the opportunity to lead his country less than three months after debuting against The British & Irish Lions in June and in just his seventh Test for the Wallabies.

Mowen's ascendency comes earlier than expected for the talented back row forward – with James Horwill currently sidelined through injury and Brumbies teammate Nic White winning his first run-on Test cap at scrumhalf in place of veteran Genia.

White has played all three of his Tests from the bench, since debuting against New Zealand in Sydney last month.

He has now earned the right to wear the Wallabies No.9 jersey for the first time.

His selection in the starting XV caps off a stellar year for the 23- year-old scrumhalf, who also played an influential role in the Brumbies' Super Rugby Finals campaign and also in their historic victory over The British & Irish Lions.

The change at scrumhalf is one of four made to Wallabies coach Ewen McKenzie's side with Ben Alexander also re-gaining his place at tighthead prop.

Powerful 125kg Waratahs lock Sitaleki Timani will bring size and starch in his return to the Australian fold and has been included on a bench which also includes Brumbies outside back Tevita Kuridrani.

Last year's back-to-back victories by the Wallabies in the Rugby Championship set a new record for the most wins in succession by Australia over Argentina, extending the current winning streak from 2000-2012 to six.

Australia: 15 Israel Folau, 14 James O'Connor, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Christian Leali'ifano, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Nic White, 8 Ben Mowen (captain), 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 James Slipper.
Replacements: 16 Saia Fainga'a, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Sekope Kepu, 19 Sitaleki Timani, 20 Ben McCalman, 21 Will Genia, 22 Matt Toomua, 23 Tevita Kuridrani.

Date: Saturday, September 14
Venue: Patersons Stadium, Perth
Kick-off: 18.05 (20.05 AEST; 07.05 Argentina time; 10.05 GMT)
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant referees: George Clancy (Ireland), Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
TMO: Vinny Munro (New Zealand)

PV: 22
Genia Axing Confirmed - Argentina | Rugby365