Fri 23 Jun 2017 | 07:30

New back row for Argentina

New back row for Argentina
Fri 23 Jun 2017 | 07:30

New back row for Argentina


Demoted from the team beaten 25-35 by England in Santa Fe last weekend are No.8 Juan Manuel Leguizamon and flanks Javier Ortega Desio and Pablo Matera.

They are replaced by Leonardo Senatore, Rodrigo Baez and Tomas Lezana as the Pumas seek a morale-lifting victory after a 0-2 series loss to a severely depleted England outfit.

Hourcade has made six changes in personnel and one positional from the team that started the second Test against the English in Santa Fe.

Matias Moroni is recalled to the right wing with Ramiro Moyano switching to the left wing in place of Emiliano Boffelli, who scored a try in each England Test.

Loosehead prop Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro comes in for Lucas Noguera Paz and lock Guido Petti takes the place of Tomas Lavanini.

An omission from the matchday 23 is veteran utility back Juan Martin Hernandez with Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias filling that role. 

Although Los Pumas have suffered five straight losses since defeating Japan in Tokyo last November, they are expected to beat Georgia, a team ranked three places lower than them.

The last of four previous meetings was at the 2015 World Cup in England, with the South Americans winning 54-9.

Argentina are preparing for the annual Rugby Championship with their first match away to South Africa in Port Elizabeth on August 19.

Argentina: 15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Matias Moroni, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente, 11 Ramiro Moyano, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Rodrigo Baez, 6 Tomas Lezana, 5 Matias Alemanno, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Enrique Pieretto, 2 Agustín Creevy (captain), 1 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro.
Replacements: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Lucas Noguera Paz, 18 Ramiro Herrera, 19 Pablo Matera, 20 Benjamin Macome, 21 Gonzalo Bertranou, 22 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 23 German Schulz.

Date: Saturday, June 24
Venue: San Salvador de Jujuy
Kick-off: 16.15 (19.15 GMT, 23.15 GET)
Referee: Luke Pearce (England)
Assistant referees: John Lacey (Ireland), Egon Seconds (South Africa)
TMO: Aaron Paterson (New Zealand)

Agence France-Presse

PV: 2
New back row for Argentina - Argentina | Rugby365