Thu 1 Dec 2016 | 01:58

Cheika changes it up for final showdown

Michael Cheika gearing up for a big week against England
Thu 1 Dec 2016 | 01:58

Cheika changes it up for final showdown


Kane Douglas returns to the starting CV for just the fifth time in 2016, while Lopeti Timani, Sefanaia Naivalu and Nick Phipps have all earned a recall.

Douglas impressed off the bench in the last start against Ireland, as did Naivalu – who raced away for a try with his first touch of the ball in Dublin last week.

Captain Stephen Moore will add yet another career milestone, when he runs out for 117th Wallaby Test – to become the second most-capped Wallaby in history, behind former skipper George Gregan.

Dean Mumm and Henry Speight shifts to the replacements bench and are joined by scrumhalf Nick Frisby, who is set for his first Test since coming off the bench against Wales on November 5.

History is also up for grabs for Tevita Kuridrani, who could join Mark Ella as the only Australian to score a try in every Test match on tour against the home unions – a feat that hasn't been replicated since the memorable Grand Slam tour of 1984.

The Cook Cup is back on the line at Twickenham Stadium after England claimed the trophy in their three-nil series win in June this year.

A win for the Wallabies could also secure second spot on the World Rugby rankings to close out 2016.

Australia: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Dane Haylett-Petty, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Reece Hodge, 11 Sefanaia Naivalu, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Lopeti Timani, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 David Pocock, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Kane Douglas, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Stephen Moore (captain), 1 Scott Sio.
Replacements: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 James Slipper, 18 Tom Robertson, 19 Dean Mumm, 20 Sean McMahon, 21 Nick Frisby, 22 Quade Cooper, 23 Henry Speight.

Date: Saturday, December 3
Venue: Twickenham, London
Kick-off: 14.30 (14.30 GMT; 01.30, Sunday, December 4 Australia Eastern Daylight time)
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Craig Joubert (South Africa), Ben Whitehouse (Wales)
TMO: Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland)

PV: 2
Cheika changes it up for final showdown - Australia | Rugby365