Sorry there are no live games.
See what's coming up.
No games this week.
Full schedule >
Thu 21 Nov 2013 | 03:56

Seymour cleared for Wallaby clash

Seymour cleared for Wallaby clash
Thu 21 Nov 2013 | 03:56

Seymour cleared for Wallaby clash


Tommy Seymour has recovered from a leg injury sustained last weekend and will start in the No.14 jersey for Scotland in Saturday’s Test against Australia.

Scotland head coach Scott Johnson had previously named his pack but delayed the announcement of the backline and his full bench to give Seymour time to prove his fitness.  

The only change to the back division that started against South Africa sees Duncan Weir preferred to his Warriors teammate Ruaridh Jackson at flyhalf. Weir will be winning his eighth cap.

On the bench, Max Evans’ experience and ability to cover both centre and wing have won him the outside back berth although Glasgow Warriors’ Mark Bennett, the uncapped centre who played for the Scotland Under-20s in the IRB Junior World Championship, remains with the squad at this juncture.

Johnson said: “The injuries we’ve experienced with four of our frontline backs sidelined during this series – Stuart Hogg, Tim Visser, Alex Dunbar and Matt Scott – have meant that we’ve had to think long and hard about combinations and our bench this weekend.”

Glasgow Warriors lock Tim Swinson was originally named in the starting line-up but has withdrawn from the side after aggravating a chest injury sustained against Japan during training.

Grant Gilchrist fills the void and in what will be his fourth Test.

Scotland: 15 Sean Maitland, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Nick De Luca, 12 Duncan Taylor, 11 Sean Lamont, 10 Duncan Weir, 9 Greig Laidlaw, 8 Dave Denton, 7 Kelly Brown (captain), 6 John Beattie, 5 Jim Hamilton, 4 Grant Gilchrist, 3 Moray Low, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Ryan Grant
Replacements: 16 Pat MacArthur, 17 Alasdair Dickinson, 18 Euan Murray, 19 Jonny Gray, 20 Kieran Low, 21 Chris Cusiter, 22 Ruaridh Jackson, 23 Max Evans

Date: Saturday, November 23
Venue: Murrayfield, Edinburgh
Kick-off: 18.00 (18.00 GMT; 05.00, Sunday, November 24 AEDT)
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Pascal Gauzere (France) and Francisco Pastrana (Argentina)
TMO: Geoff Warren (England)

PV: 46
Seymour Cleared For Wallaby Clash - Australia | Rugby365