Thu 8 Jun 2017 | 08:52

Jones names four rookies to face Pumas

Eddie Jones explains his squad selection for Argentina Test
Thu 8 Jun 2017 | 08:52

Jones names four rookies to face Pumas


Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Alex Lozowski (Saracens), Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs) and Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons) all make their international debuts at the weekend.
Dylan Hartley captains the side in what will be his 85th cap for England. He will move ahead of former captain Martin Johnson and alongside Rory Underwood and Lawrence Dallaglio as the third-equal most capped England international of all time.  
There are a total of 345 caps among the starting XV, despite 30 players being unavailable for the tour.

Marland Yarde (Harlequins) comes back into the side on the right wing for the first time since the 2016 Old Mutual Wealth Series alongside vice captains George Ford (Bath Rugby), Danny Care (Harlequins) and Mike Brown (Harlequins).
Jones has named seven uncapped players on the bench including Piers Francis (Northampton Saints), who joined up with the squad on Monday from Auckland, and Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks), who has recovered well from his foot injury he picked up in Brighton.
"I'm really excited about this England team to face Argentina this weekend," said Jones.

"I have selected a group of experienced players across the spine of this team as well as four young players who will be eager to go out and play well on their debuts for England.
"Those players have worked extremely hard to get selected over the last few weeks, but I have been impressed with the way the whole squad has trained and gelled together in a short amount of time. They all realise the opportunity that they have to be involved in this England side and I'm sure they will show that commitment on Saturday.
"We are here to win this series 2-0 but we know Argentina will be extremely tough opposition. After a mixed year of results, there will be pressure on them to play well and win in front of a partisan crowd. We know Argentina are a very good side having played them earlier this season and they will be desperate to win against us."
England: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Marland Yarde, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Alex Lozowski, 11 Jonny May, 10 George Ford, 9 Danny Care, 8 Nathan Hughes, 7 Tom Curry, 6 Mark Wilson, 5 Charlie Ewels, 4 Joe Launchbury, 3 Harry Williams, 2 Dylan Hartley (captain), 1 Ellis Genge.
Replacements: 16 Jack Singleton, 17 Matt Mullan, 18 Will Collier, 19 Nick Isiekwe, 20 Don Armand, 21 Jack Maunder, 22 Piers Francis, 23 Denny Solomona.

Date: Saturday, June 10
Venue: Estadio San Juan del Bicentenario, San Juan
Kick-off: 16.15 (20.15 BST; 19.19 GMT)
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant referees: John Lacey (Ireland), Egon Seconds (South Africa)
TMO: Aaron Paterson (New Zealand)

PV: 2
Jones Names Four Rookies To Face Pumas - England | Rugby365