Wed 18 Oct 2017 | 04:40

All Blacks change four for Wallabies

Steve Hansen talks team selection
Wed 18 Oct 2017 | 04:40

All Blacks change four for Wallabies


The changes from the matchday 23 which played the last Test against South Africa – a 25-24 win – are all in the backs.

Lima Sopoaga comes in for the injured Beauden Barrett in the No.10 jersey.

Although Barrett was cleared of concussion, after a head knock playing South Africa two weeks ago, he has suffered dizziness and headaches since.

Damian McKenzie, whose eight Tests so far have primarily been at fullback, will provide cover for the No.10 jersey. 

Waisake Naholo comes in on the right wing for the injured Nehe Milner-Skudder.

Thomas Perenara is the replacement scrumhalf, with Anton Lienert-Brown coming into the matchday 23 to provide additional back cover.

Meanwhile, Sam Cane will play his 50th Test in an All Blacks career which started five years ago in June 2012 – when he made his Test debut against Ireland.

Hansen said this weekend had all the makings of another great Test match.

"Both teams have their own goals and expectations," the coach said.

"From Australia's point of view, they'll be desperate to win as they haven't done so for some time.

"For us, our goal is to never be satisfied at where we're at, and that means it's greater than just the outcome.

"It's about how we play, individually and collectively as a unit.

"We're always striving to get better every game and this week is no different.

"As always, to do that, our preparation has to be spot on and bone-deep.  It's an individual focus for each player. The job of the team management is to facilitate a training week which provides them with clarity and the right amount of intensity so that they can arrive on Saturday ready to hum.

"It'll be another great opportunity for this young team to show what they've learnt throughout the year and playing in Brisbane will be another fantastic learning experience for them all.

It's a great ground with a lot of tradition and there'll be huge support for the All Blacks, which we're looking forward to."
New Zealand: 15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Ryan Crotty, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Lima Sopoaga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Squire, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Samuel Whitelock, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Kane Hames.
Replacements: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Ofa Tu'ungafasi, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Matt Todd, 21 Thomas Perenara, 22 Anton Lienert-Brown, 23 David Havili.

Date: Saturday, October 21
Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Australia
Kick-off: 19.05 (22.05 NZ time; 09.05 GMT)
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant referees: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa), Egon Seconds (South Africa)
TMO: Marius Jonker (South Africa)

PV: 2
All Blacks change four for Wallabies - New Zealand | Rugby365