• Rugby 365 TV Rugby 365 TV
  • Contact Us Contact Us
  • Countries Countries
  • Homepage Homepage
  • Latest News Latest News
  • Laws & Referees Laws & Referees
  • Match Centre Match Centre
  • More Tournaments More Tournaments
  • Newsletter Newsletter
  • rugby365 TV rugby365 TV
  • Schools Schools
  • Search Results Search Results
  • Sports Innovation Summit Sports Innovation Summit
  • Tournaments Tournaments
  • Uncategorised Uncategorised
  • Rugby 365 TV
  • Other
Thu 2 Nov 2017 | 03:49

BaaBaas game an All Black trial

Barbarians v NZ is a trial game
Thu 2 Nov 2017 | 03:49

BaaBaas game an All Black trial


Ten players in the BaaBaas' starting XV are either 'fringe' players or part of the All Blacks' larger squad.

Wing Julian Savea top the list of fringe All Blacks with a point to prove.

The rest of the starting XV includes four South Africans and an Australian.

Savea – with 46 tries in 54 Test appearances – makes his Barbarians debut – with younger brother Ardie in the All Black side.

Andy Ellis, a member of New Zealand 2011 World Cup-winning team, captains the BaaBaas.

Former South Africa captain Adriaan Strauss provides the experience in a pack containing five internationals in Australia's Sam Carter and New Zealanders Dominic Bird, Steven Luatua and Luke Whitelock.

There is a rare degree of continuity for the Barbarians, as nine of the players in coach Robbie Deans' squad featured in the successful 2016 tour – when the Barbarians drew 31-all with South Africa at Wembley.

Barbarians: 15 George Bridge (Crusaders), 14 Julian Savea (Hurricanes & New Zealand), 13 Richard Buckman (Highlanders), 12 Harold Vorster (Lions), 11 Vince Aso (Hurricanes), 10 Richie Mo'unga (Crusaders), 9 Andy Ellis (Steelers & New Zealand, captain), 8 Luke Whitelock (Highlanders & New Zealand), 7 Albertus Smith (Lions & SA Sevens), 6 Steven Luatua (Bristol & New Zealand), 5 Dominic Bird (Chiefs & New Zealand), 4 Sam Carter (Brumbies & Australia), 3 Atu Moli (Chiefs), 2 Adriaan Strauss (Bulls & South Africa), 1 Jacques van Rooyen (Lions).
Replacements: 16 Armand van der Merwe (Sharks),17 Ben Franks (London Irish & New Zealand), 18 Ruan Smith (Verblitz), 19 Willie Britz (Sunwolves), 20 Ruan Ackermann (Gloucester), 21 Mitchell Drummond (Crusaders), 22 Robert du Preez (Stormers), 23 Dillon Hunt (Highlanders).

Date: Saturday, November 4
Venue: Twickenham, London
Kick-off: 15.00 (15.00 GMT; 03.00 NZ Time, Sunday, November 5)
Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)
Assistant referees: Nic Berry (Australia), Ben Whitehouse (Wales)
TMO: Rowan Kitt (England)

PV: 2
Baabaas Game An All Black Trial - New Zealand | Rugby365