Sorry there are no live games.
See what's coming up.
No games this week.
Full schedule >
  • Rugby 365 TV Rugby 365 TV
  • Contact Us Contact Us
  • Countries Countries
  • Homepage Homepage
  • Latest News Latest News
  • Laws & Referees Laws & Referees
  • Match Centre Match Centre
  • More Tournaments More Tournaments
  • Newsletter Newsletter
  • rugby365 TV rugby365 TV
  • Schools Schools
  • Search Results Search Results
  • Sports Innovation Summit Sports Innovation Summit
  • Tournaments Tournaments
  • Uncategorised Uncategorised
  • Rugby 365 TV
Wed 12 Feb 2014 | 05:08

Captain fantastic SA’s best

Captain fantastic SA’s best
Wed 12 Feb 2014 | 05:08

Captain fantastic SA’s best


Springbok captain Jean de Villiers on Wednesday became only the sixth player to be named South African Rugby Player of the Year more than once.

At the same time Eben Etzebeth was named the Young Player of the Year for 2013 for the second successive season.
De Villiers led the Springboks to 10 wins in 12 Tests in 2013 and scored five tries in the process, following an outstanding Super Rugby campaign for the Stormers. His first-class record now stands at 254 matches with 91 tries scored.
The blond-haired Springbok captain also walked away with the spoils in 2008. He becomes only the sixth player to win the title more than once, following in the footsteps of Naas Botha (who won it four times), Bryan Habana (won three times), Uli Schmidt, Fourie du Preez and Schalk Burger (who all won it twice).
De Villiers, who also received the award for Try of the Year after rounding off a superb team effort for the Springboks against Wales in Cardiff, beat off strong competition for the top award in South African rugby from fellow nominees Bismarck du Plessis, Etzebeth, Willie le Roux and Duane Vermeulen.
The 22-year-old Etzebeth became the first player to walk away with back-to-back awards for the Young Player of the Year, which confirmed his status as one of the best up-and-coming players in world rugby after yet another superb season at lock for the Springboks and the Stormers.
The awards to De Villiers and Etzebeth were two of the highlights of a star-studded evening during which accolades in 14 other categories were awarded to the stars of the 2013 rugby season.
Springbok and Cheetahs utility back Le Roux’s exploits saw him voted as SARPA’s Players’ Player of the Year – an award voted for by the players themselves.
“This is indeed a special award for me as my fellow players have recognised me as their player of the year," said Le Roux. "I would like to thank SARPA and all my peers for this award and most importantly their support throughout 2013,” he added.

The Mpumalanga Rugby Union left with three awards following a highly successful 2013 season for the side from Nelspruit.

Jimmy Stonehouse is the Coach of the Year for his efforts with the Pumas and the South African President’s XV, Rosko Specman was named First Division Player of the Year and the Pumas are the Team of the Year after winning the First Division and finishing runners-up in the Vodacom Cup.
Amongst the three other national teams, Cornal Hendricks (South African Sevens Player of the Year), Cheslin Kolbe (South African Under-20 Player of the Year) and Zenay Jordaan (Women’s Achiever of the Year) were rewarded for their excellent form last season.
The other individual awards in the three remaining professional competitions went to Adriaan Strauss, who captained the Cheetahs to their first-ever play-off appearance in Super Rugby, Siyabonga Ntubeni (Western Province – Currie Cup Player of the Year) and Fred Zeilinga (Sharks XV – Vodacom Cup Player of the Year).

Jonathan Kaplan, the most experienced Test referee in the world who retired at the end of last season, was honoured for his contribution to the game spanning two decades, while he also received the Referee Award for consistently performing well under pressure in 2013.
Oregan Hoskins, President of the South African Rugby Union, congratulated the winners and applauded their achievements in 2013.
“The Springboks showed massive improvement last year and are now chasing New Zealand hard for the position of top-ranked team in the world, while our Junior Boks and Springbok Sevens teams also performed very well,” said Hoskins.
“In Super Rugby, the Bulls and Cheetahs were top of the local pile, while the standard of play across all levels on local soil was of the highest standard.
“As we prepare for what promises to be a massive year ahead, I would like to congratulate every winner on their awards, but would also like to thank every player, coach, administrator, referee, sponsor and all other role players for making 2013 a season to remember.”
The winners and finalists (where applicable) in all the categories for 2013 are:
SARU Rugby Player of the Year
Jean de Villiers
Finalists: Bismarck du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Willie le Roux, Duane Vermeulen
Young Player of the Year
Eben Etzebeth
Finalists: Pieter-Steph du Toit, Cheslin Kolbe, Siya Kolisi, Jan Serfontein
SARPA Players’ Player of the Year: Willie le Roux (Springboks, Cheetahs, Griquas)

Springbok Sevens Player of the Year
Cornal Hendricks
Finalists: Frankie Horne, Seabelo Senatla
South African Under-20 Player of the Year
Cheslin Kolbe
Finalists: Jacques du Plessis, Seabelo Senatla
Team of the Year
Finalists: Sharks (Currie Cup), Springboks
Coach of the Year
Jimmy Stonehouse (Pumas, South African President’s XV)
Finalists: Heyneke Meyer (Springboks), Brendan Venter (Sharks)
Super Rugby Player of the Year
Adriaan Strauss (Cheetahs)
Finalists: Willie le Roux (Cheetahs), Duane Vermeulen (Stormers)
Currie Cup Player of the Year
Siyabonga Ntubeni (Western Province)
Finalists: Cheslin Kolbe (Western Province), Fred Zeilinga (Sharks)
First Division Player of the Year
Rosko Specman (Pumas)
Finalists: Alshaun Bock (SWD Eagles), Tiger Mangweni (EP Kings)
Vodacom Cup Player of the Year
Fred Zeilinga (Sharks XV)
Finalists: Marnitz Boshoff (Golden Lions), Rosko Specman (Pumas)
Try of the Year
Jean de Villiers (Springboks v Wales in Cardiff)
Finalists: Zane Kirchner (Springboks v Australia, Cape Town), Bryan Habana (Springboks v New Zealand, Johannesburg), JP Pietersen (Springboks v Scotland, Edinburgh), Jano Vermaak (Bulls v Southern Kings, Port Elizabeth), Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks v Highlanders, Dunedin), Pat Lambie (Sharks v Vodacom Bulls, Pretoria), Riaan Smit (Free State Cheetahs v Blue Bulls, Pretoria), Rocco Jansen (Griquas v Golden Lions, Johannesburg), Gio Aplon (Western Province v Sharks, Cape Town).
Referee Award: Jonathan Kaplan
Women’s Achiever of the Year: Zenay Jordaan (Eastern Province)
Community Cup Player of the Tournament: Giovano Fourie (Despatch)
Craven Week Player of the Tournament: Grant Hermanus (Western Province)

PV: 20
Captain Fantastic Sa’s Best | Rugby365