Sorry there are no live games.
See what's coming up.
No games this week.
Full schedule >
  • Rugby 365 TV Rugby 365 TV
  • Contact Us Contact Us
  • Countries Countries
  • Homepage Homepage
  • Latest News Latest News
  • Laws & Referees Laws & Referees
  • Match Centre Match Centre
  • More Tournaments More Tournaments
  • Newsletter Newsletter
  • rugby365 TV rugby365 TV
  • Schools Schools
  • Search Results Search Results
  • Sports Innovation Summit Sports Innovation Summit
  • Tournaments Tournaments
  • Uncategorised Uncategorised
  • Rugby 365 TV
Tue 23 Apr 2013 | 05:48

Ireland's finest shortlisted

Ireland's finest shortlisted
Tue 23 Apr 2013 | 05:48

Ireland's finest shortlisted


The Irish Rugby Union's Players Association (IRUPA) have announced the shortlist for the Player of the Year award for 2013.

In the running to land the much sought after award are Leinster and Ireland prop Cian Healy, Ulster No.8 Nick Williams and Munster and Ireland wing Simon Zebo.

These are the only awards voted for by the players themselves, with votes collected from the entire professional player group across the country.

Leinster and Ireland flyhalf Jonathan Sexton highlighted the importance of the awards.

"Winning an IRUPA award, which is voted for by the players is a huge mark of respect for any rugby player," he said.

"The Hibernia College Player of the Year award is particularly well regarded by the players, as it rewards consistency and skill at the highest level."

The award is one of seven which will be announced at the annual IRUPA Awards ceremony on Wednesday, May 8 in Dublin.

Among the other awards is the Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year, contested this year by several talented young players including Connacht's Robbie Henshaw, Leinster's Ian Madigan, also nominated in 2012, and Luke Marshall from Ulster.

The Try of the Year includes Craig Gilroy's five-pointer for Ireland against Argentina in the November internationals, Iain Henderson's effort against Saracens in Ulster's European Cup quarterfinal and Simon Zebo gets a second nomination for his try against Wales in the Six Nations.

2013 is the second year of the Hibernia College Medal for Excellence which will be awarded to the individual who demonstrates exceptional commitment to the game both on and off field.

2013 IRUPA award nominations:

Hibernia College IRUPA Player's Player of the Year:
Cian Healy (Leinster)
Nick Williams (Ulster)
Simon Zebo (Munster)

Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year:
Robbie Henshaw (Connacht)
Ian Madigan (Leinster)
Luke Marshall (Ulster)

Try of the Year:
Craig Gilroy, Ireland v Argentina, November international
Iain Henderson, Saracens v Ulster, European Cup
Simon Zebo, Ireland v Wales, Six Nations

Hibernia College Medal for Excellence:
Isaac Boss (Leinster)
Chris Henry (Ulster)
Marcus Horan (Munster)

PV: 4
Ireland's Finest Shortlisted | Rugby365