• Rugby 365 TV Rugby 365 TV
  • Contact Us Contact Us
  • Countries Countries
  • Homepage Homepage
  • Latest News Latest News
  • Laws & Referees Laws & Referees
  • Match Centre Match Centre
  • More Tournaments More Tournaments
  • Newsletter Newsletter
  • rugby365 TV rugby365 TV
  • Schools Schools
  • Search Results Search Results
  • Sports Innovation Summit Sports Innovation Summit
  • Tournaments Tournaments
  • Uncategorised Uncategorised
  • Rugby 365 TV
Thu 8 Aug 2013 | 08:24

Jake is Australia's best coach

Jake is Australia's best coach
Thu 8 Aug 2013 | 08:24

Jake is Australia's best coach


Jake White may have lost out to Ewen McKenzie in the race for the Wallaby job, but he has been voted as Australia's best Super Rugby coach.

The former World Cup-winning Springbok coach's Brumbies side also won the team of the year gong.

After missing out on finals in 2012 due to a last round loss to the Blues, the Brumbies progressed to the Final in 2013.

After more than 30,000km of travel in the fortnight preceding the final the Brumbies put up a gallant fight in the Final against the Chiefs in Hamilton, only to fall agonisingly short from a heroic Super Rugby title.

It has been an incredible turn around for the Brumbies under White, who took his side from 13th place with just four wins in 2011 to seventh place and 10 wins in his first season in 2012.

White further improved his side's performance this year finishing the tournament in third position overall with 10 wins and two more competition points than the previous season.

Wallaby star Michael Hooper was Thursday voted the Australian Super Rugby player of the year, beating George Smith and Will Genia.

The openside flank polled 21 votes, four more than Smith and Genia, to become the first Waratahs player to win the honour since Phil Waugh in 2001.

Hooper, 21, who joined the Waratahs from the Brumbies at the start of the season, played the first two Tests against the British and Irish Lions before he was displaced in the final Test by the more experienced Smith.

Hooper polled votes in nine rounds of the competition, with four of those matches rated as man-of-the-match performances.

Smith, who came out of international retirement to play in a second series against the Lions, polled 17 votes along with scrumhalf Genia.

Former Rugby League international Israel Folau was named rookie of the year in his first season in Union.

Unlike the previous two seasons that saw the Reds dominate the awards the Brumbies, Waratahs and the Reds all shared the trophies on offer.

Rod Davies was awarded the Try of the Year on behalf of the Reds, after he finished off an incredible length of the field effort in their Round 10 match against the Sharks at Suncorp Stadium.

Positioned just five meters out from their own try-line, Reds scrumhalf Will Genia decided to roll the dice and run the ball, passing to flyhalf Quade Cooper. Some quick thinking and quick hands from Cooper provided outside centre Chris Feauai-Sautia with enough space to break down the far side. Damaging wing Digby Ioane gave chase in support and took a well-timed pass to continue the Reds flying move down the wing.

The man who started it all, Genia, received the ball back from Ioane just 30 meters out from the line and when he hit the 22 put in a well weighted cross-field grubber kick to wing Rod Davies who finished off an incredible 20 seconds.

Steve Walsh won his second Australian Referee of the Year Award, joining former referees Stuart Dickinson and Andrew Cole as a back-to-back winners.

Player of the Year recipients
2013 – Michael Hooper
2012 – Will Genia
2011 – Will Genia
2010 – Quade Cooper
2009 – George Smith
2008 – George Smith
2007 – George Smith
2006 – George Smith
2005 – Chris Latham
2004 – Chris Latham
2003 – Joe Roff & Chris Latham
2002 – Stirling Mortlock
2001 – Phil Waugh
2000 – Chris Latham
1999 – Joe Roff
1998 – Stephen Larkham & John Eales

Coach and Team of the Year recipients
2013 – Jake White (Brumbies)
2012 – Ewen McKenzie (Reds)
2011 – Ewen McKenzie (Reds)
2010 – Chris Hickey (Waratahs)
2009 – Chris Hickey (Waratahs)
2008 – Ewen McKenzie (Waratahs)
2007 – Laurie Fisher (Brumbies)
2006 – Ewen McKenzie (Waratahs)
2005 – Ewen McKenzie (Waratahs)
2004 – David Nucifora (Brumbies)
2003 – David Nucifora (Brumbies)
2002 – David Nucifora (Brumbies)
2001 – Eddie Jones (Brumbies)
2000 – Eddie Jones (Brumbies)
1999 – John Connolly (Reds)
1998 – John Connolly (Reds)

Rookie of the Year recipients
2013 – Israel Folau
2012 – Joseph Tomane
2011 – Nick Phipps
2010 – Pat McCabe
2009 – Laurie Weeks
2008 – Tyrone Smith
2007 – Lachie Turner
2006 – Benn Robinson
2005 – Peter Hewat
2004 – Nic Henderson & Drew Mitchell
2003 – Matt Giteau
2002 – Van Humphries
2001 – David Croft
2000 – Phil Waugh
1999 – Nathan Sharpe
1998 – Chris Whitaker

Referee of the Year recipients
2013 – Steve Walsh
2012 – Steve Walsh
2011 – Stuart Dickinson
2010 – Stuart Dickinson
2009 – Stuart Dickinson
2008 – Stuart Dickinson
2007 – Stuart Dickinson
2006 – Scott Young
2005 – Andrew Cole
2004 – Andrew Cole
2003 – Peter Marshall
2002 – Stuart Dickinson
2001 – Peter Marshall
2000 – Wayne Erickson
1999 – Stuart Dickinson
1998 – Scott Young

PV: 18
Jake is Australia's best coach | Rugby365