• Rugby 365 TV Rugby 365 TV
  • Contact Us Contact Us
  • Countries Countries
  • Homepage Homepage
  • Latest News Latest News
  • Laws & Referees Laws & Referees
  • Match Centre Match Centre
  • More Tournaments More Tournaments
  • Newsletter Newsletter
  • rugby365 TV rugby365 TV
  • Schools Schools
  • Search Results Search Results
  • Sports Innovation Summit Sports Innovation Summit
  • Tournaments Tournaments
  • Uncategorised Uncategorised
  • Rugby 365 TV
Wed 30 Jan 2013 | 12:27

Kings trial four foreigners

Kings trial four foreigners
Wed 30 Jan 2013 | 12:27

Kings trial four foreigners


Southern Kings coach Alan Solomons has named four of his five foreign imports in the 29-man squad that will face a SWD Franchise XV in a pre-season outing in George on Friday.

Kenyan utility forward Daniel Adongo, New Zealand utility back Hadleigh Parkes, French hooker Virgil Lacombe, and Argentinean loose forward Tomas Leonardi will all play 40 minutes.

Puma scrumhalf Nicolas Vergallo is the only foreign import that does not feature in Friday's squad.

The Kings were told this week that they are not allowed more than the regulation two foreigners in the matchday squad, which means three of the five will miss out.

However, Kings President Cheeky Watson, who said they "will accept and abide by the decision", revealed that they will not send any of their foreigners packing.

"We will not be releasing any of our foreign players, as there are still ample opportunities within our structures for them to contribute," Watson said in a statement.

In the meantime Solomons is continuing to trial the foreigners to see who will feature for them when the Super Rugby season gets underway next month.

In the absence of regular captain Luke Watson, Cheetahs import Andries Strauss will captain the Kings during the first half of Friday's trial, while Sevens Springbok Mpho Mbiyozo will wear the captaincy armband after the half-time break.

Southern Kings:  
15 Elric van Vuuren
14 Sergeal Petersen (40 minutes) / Siviwe Soyizwapi (40 minutes)
13 Ronnie Cooke (60 minutes) / Siyanda Grey (20 minutes)
12 Andries Strauss (Captain) (40 minutes) / Hadleigh Parkes (40 minutes)
11 Marcello Sampson (40 minutes)/Siyanda Grey (20 minutes)/Sergeal Petersen (20 minutes)
10 George Whitehead (40 minutes) / Wesley Dunlop (Vice Captain) (40 minutes)
9 Shaun Venter (40 minutes) / Johan Herbst (40 minutes)
8 Jacques Engelbrecht (40 minutes) /Cornell du Preez (40 minutes)
7 Wimpie van der Walt (40 minutes) / Mpho Mbiyozo (Captain) (40 minutes)
6 Devin Oosthuizen (Vice Captain) (40 minutes) / Tomas Leonardi (40 minutes)
5 Daniel Adongo (40 minutes) / Rynier Bernardo (40 minutes)
4 David Bullbring (80 minutes)
3 Ross Geldenhuys (40 minutes) / Kevin Buys (40 minutes)
2 Virgil Lacombe (40 minutes) / Bandise Maku (40 minutes)
1 Jaco Engels (40 minutes) / Schalk Ferreira (40 minutes)

Date: Friday, February 1
Venue: Outeniqua Park, George
Kick-off: 19.00 (17.00 GMT)
Referee: TBC

PV: 7
Kings Trial Four Foreigners | Rugby365