• Rugby 365 TV Rugby 365 TV
  • Contact Us Contact Us
  • Countries Countries
  • Homepage Homepage
  • Latest News Latest News
  • Laws & Referees Laws & Referees
  • Match Centre Match Centre
  • More Tournaments More Tournaments
  • Newsletter Newsletter
  • rugby365 TV rugby365 TV
  • Schools Schools
  • Search Results Search Results
  • Sports Innovation Summit Sports Innovation Summit
  • Tournaments Tournaments
  • Uncategorised Uncategorised
  • Rugby 365 TV
Thu 25 Apr 2013 | 10:30

Which Premiership boss is top?

Which Premiership boss is top?
Thu 25 Apr 2013 | 10:30

Which Premiership boss is top?


Coaches at the top and bottom of the Premiership are featured in the shortlist for the Director of Rugby of the Season award.

The winner is announced by Premiership Rugby at a glittering ceremony on May 9 at the London Hiton, Park Lane. The event is now sold out.

The current top two sides in the Premiership, Saracens and Leicester Tigers, are recognised on the shortlist alongside London Wasps and London Welsh. The list includes one previous winner, Richard Cockerill of Leicester Tigers, who won the award in 2008-09.

"Premiership Rugby is fortunate to have some of the best coaches in the world working for our 12 clubs," said Phil Winstanley the Rugby Director at Premiership Rugby.

"This is good news for the League but made the choice of selecting the shortlist very difficult indeed and it is a credit to all four of these coaches that they made it onto the list.

"If you look at the list of previous winners you will see a who's who of rugby coaching so the winner will be stepping into some very big shoes."

The shortlist is:

Richard Cockerill – Leicester Tigers
Lyn Jones – London Welsh
Mark McCall – Saracens
Dai Young – London Wasps

On 9 May the following Awards will be made:

Premiership Rugby Player of the Season
Community Player of the Season
Discovery of the Season
Director of Rugby of the Season
Try of the Season
Golden Boot
Premiership Rugby Sevens Player of the Season
Top Try Scorer of the Season
Dream Team
Game Changer of the Season

Previous Winners: Directors of Rugby of the Season:

2011/12 – Rob Baxter (Exeter Chiefs)
2010/11 – Jim Mallinder (Northampton Saints)
2009/10 – Andy Key (Leeds Carnegie)
2008/09 – Richard Cockerill (Leicester Tigers)
2007/08 – Dean Ryan (Gloucester Rugby)
2006/07 – Pat Howard (Leicester Tigers)
2005/06 – Philippe Saint-Andre (Sale Sharks)
2004/05 – John Wells (Leicester Tigers)
2003/04 – John Connolly (Bath Rugby)
2002/03 – Warren Gatland (London Wasps)
2001/02 – Conor O'Shea and Brendan Venter (London Irish)
2000/01 – Dean Richards (Leicester Tigers)
1999/2000 – Andy Robinson (Bath Rugby)

PV: 9
Which Premiership boss is top? | Rugby365