• Rugby 365 TV Rugby 365 TV
  • Contact Us Contact Us
  • Countries Countries
  • Homepage Homepage
  • Latest News Latest News
  • Laws & Referees Laws & Referees
  • Match Centre Match Centre
  • More Tournaments More Tournaments
  • Newsletter Newsletter
  • rugby365 TV rugby365 TV
  • Schools Schools
  • Search Results Search Results
  • Sports Innovation Summit Sports Innovation Summit
  • Tournaments Tournaments
  • Uncategorised Uncategorised
  • Rugby 365 TV
Tue 27 Mar 2018 | 09:44

Team of the Week: Kiwi flavour

Team of the Week: Kiwi flavour
Tue 27 Mar 2018 | 09:44

Team of the Week: Kiwi flavour


There are seven New Zealanders in our selection this week with the Highlanders leading the way with three players, despite losing to the Hurricanes.

The Stormers also have three players in our selection after their win against the Reds.

In the backline we have Ben Smith at fullback with Waisake Naholo and Emiliano Boffelli on the wings.

In the midfield we have Bill Meakes and Matt Proctor. Damian Willemse gets the No.10 spot once again while Thomas Perenara is our choice at No.9.

In the pack our loose trio consists of Jean-Luc du Preez, Pablo Matera and Luke Whitelock. In the second row we have Pieter-Steph du Toit and Brodie Retallick.

Wilco Louw, Codie Taylor and Tendai Mtawarira make up our front row.

Team of the Week – Round Six:

15 – Ben Smith (Highlanders)
A constant attacking threat out wide against the Hurricanes. He was hard to contain when given a little space.
Bubbling under: Aidan Toua (Reds)

14 – Waisake Naholo (Highlanders)
It was another powerful performance by the flyer against the Hurricanes and he scored two tries as well.
Bubbling under: Bautista Delguy (Jaguares)

13 – Matt Proctor (Hurricanes)
He continues to keep Vince Aso out of the starting XV with strong performances and it was no different against the Highlanders last weekend.
Bubbling under: Jack Goodhue (Crusaders)

12 – Bill Meakes (Melbourne Rebels)
He terrorised the Sharks' defence with a number of strong carries and he was solid on defence in the midfield.
Bubbling under: Ngani Laumape (Hurricanes)

11 – Emiliano Boffelli (Jaguares)
He ran the Lions' defenders ragged out wide and he scored two of his team's tries.
Bubbling under: Solomon Alaimalo (Chiefs)

10 – Damian Willemse (Stormers)
It was another busy performance by the youngster in the No.10 channel. He unlocked the Reds' defence on a few occasions and his overall decision-making was good.
Bubbling under: Damian McKenzie (Chiefs)

9 – Thomas Perenara (Hurricanes)
He was outstanding against the Highlanders. He distributed the ball well and he was smart in the way he conducted play behind the rucks.
Bubbling under: Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi (Chiefs)

8 – Luke Whitelock (Highlanders)
Another industrious performance from the workhorse. He gives his all in every game.
Bubbling under: Javier Ortega Desio (Jaguares)

7 – Jean-Luc du Preez (Sharks)
A standout performer in a losing cause for the Sharks. 
Bubbling under: Sam Cane (Chiefs)

6 – Pablo Matera (Jaguares)
He was simply outstanding against the Lions. His work rate on attack and on defence was phenomenal.
Bubbling under: Lachlan Boshier (Chiefs)

5 – Pieter-Steph du Toit (Stormers)
He played in his best position this week and he excelled with another barnstorming performance.
Bubbling under: Tyler Ardron (Chiefs)

4 – Brodie Retallick (Chiefs)
It was another impressive all-round showing by the big man in the win over the Sunwolves.
Bubbling under: Scott Barrett (Crusaders)

3 – Wilco Louw (Stormers)
Strong in the scrums once again and did his bit in open play as well.
Bubbling under: Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro (Jaguares)

2 – Codie Taylor (Crusaders)
Another energetic performance from the All Black before he left the field.
Bubbling under: Malcolm Marx (Lions)

1 – Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks)
He put in some powerful carries against the Rebels and racked up the running metres.
Bubbling under: Chris Eves (Hurricanes)

Individual selections:

Paul Dobson XV: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Matt Proctor, 12 Bill Meakes, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Thomas Perenara, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.

Leezil Hendricks XV: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Bautista Delguy, 13 Matt Proctor, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Thomas Perenara, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Chris Eves.

Warren Fortune XV: Aidan Toua, Waisake Naholo, Jack Goodhue, Bill Meakes, Solomon Alaimalo, Damian McKenzie, 9 Thomas Perenara, 8 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 5 Tyler Ardron, 4 Scott Barrett, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.

Previous selections:

Team of the Week – Round Five: 15 Damian McKenzie (Chiefs), 13 Jesse Kriel (Bulls), 12 Samu Kerevi (Reds), 11 Hosea Saumaki (Sunwolves), 10 Damian Willemse (Stormers), 9 Dewald Duvenage (Stormers), 8 Amanaki Mafi (Melbourne Rebels), 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit (Stormers), 6 Siyamthanda Kolisi (Stormers), 5 Scott Barrett (Crusaders), 4 Brodie Retallick (Chiefs), 3 Taniela Tupou (Reds), 2 Codie Taylor (Crusaders), 1 Steven Kitshoff (Stormers).

Team of the Week – Round Four: 15 Ben Smith (Highlanders), 14 Waisake Naholo (Highlanders), 13 Rieko Ioane (Blues), 12 Andre Esterhuizen (Sharks), 11 Melani Nanai (Blues), 10 Damian Willemse (Stormers), 9 Aaron Smith (Highlanders), 8 Akira Ioane (Blues), 7 Ardie Savea (Hurricanes), 6 Pablo Matera (Jaguares), 5 Lodewyk de Jager (Bulls), 4 Vaea Fifita (Hurricanes), 3 Ofa Tu'ungafasi (Blues), 2 Armand van der Merwe (Sharks), 1 Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks).

Team of the Week – Round Three: 15 David Havili (Crusaders), 14 Julian Savea (Hurricanes), 13 Jack Goodhue (Crusaders), 12 Handré Pollard (Bulls), 11 George Bridge (Crusaders), 10 Richie Mo'unga (Crusaders), 9 Brad Weber (Chiefs), 8 Warren Whiteley (Lions), 7 Billy Harmon (Crusaders), 6 Brad Shields (Hurricanes), 5 Adam Coleman (Melbourne Rebels), 4 Ruan Botha (Sharks), 3 Wilco Louw (Stormers), 2 Malcolm Marx (Lions), 1 Jacques van Rooyen (Lions).

Teams of the Week – Round Two: 15 Ben Smith (Highlanders), 14 Sylvian Mahuza (Lions), 13 Rob Thompson (Highlanders), 12 Ryan Crotty (Crusaders), 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi (Lions), 10 Lima Sopoaga (Highlanders), 9 Aaron Smith (Highlanders), 8 Jordan Taufua (Crusaders), 7 Pieter Labuschagne (Sunwolves), 6 Roelof Smit (Bulls), 5 Samuel Whitelock (Crusaders), 4 Rudolph Snyman (Bulls), 3 Ruan Dreyer (Lions), 2 James Parsons (Blues), 1 Steven Kitshoff (Stormers).

Team of the Week – Round One: 15 Dillyn Leyds (Stormers), 14 Seabelo Senatla (Stormers), 13 Lionel Mapoe (Lions), 12 Damian de Allende (Stormers), 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi (Lions), 10 Robert du Preez (Sharks), 9 Ross Cronje (Lions), 8 Nizaam Carr (Stormers), 7 Cyle Brink (Lions), 6 Siyamthanda Kolisi (Stormers), 5 John Schickerling (Stormers), 4 Ruan Botha (Sharks), 3 Nahuel Tétaz Chaparro (Jaguares), 2 Malcolm Marx (Lions), 1 Jacques van Rooyen (Lions).


PV: 2
Team Of The Week: Kiwi Flavour | Rugby365