Thu 28 Nov 2013 | 09:04

Aus Schools lose again in Wales

Aus Schools lose again in Wales
Thu 28 Nov 2013 | 09:04

Aus Schools lose again in Wales


Australian School in the second match of their tour of the UK and Ireland, suffered their second defeat, this time 26-12 to Wales Under-18.

On Friday night, Wales A beat the Australians 18-15, also at The Gnoll in Neath. The tourists' next match is against the Ospreys on Sunday.

Wales Under-18 thoroughly deserved their victory, scoring four tries to two. At one stage they led 19-0 before Australia's two tries brought it to 18-12 but then Wales scored their fourth try.

A try by Garyn Smith and a penalty try with conversions by Luke Smith made it 14-0 at half time. The penalty try was awarded when Wales pulled down a maul from a five-metre line-out which was rumbling towards the try-line.

Early in the  second half Josh Adams scored a try which took the score to 19-0.

A yellow card brought Wales to 14 men and  loose forwards Jack McCalman and Lolo Fakaosilea scored tries. 19-12 before Tyler Morgan got Wales's fourth try.

Welsh coach Allan Lewis  said: "I'm extremely pleased. In the first half we played some lovely rugby but I've got to admire the character of the team, the spirit they showed and their defensive qualities.

"It was excellent. I think it's part of their development to be comfortable with ball in hand and playing at a high tempo. I thought we showed a bit of naivety at times, we tried to keep the ball alive, possibly going against my philosophy, but I thought the way we approached the game defensively was magnificent.

"When we play against sides like Australia, it's such an education for the boys. To play South Africa in the summer and now Australia, it's been a great experience.

"In the past year a lot of these boys have played something like nine internationals. Several are likely to move into the Under-20s but a number of them will come back with us after Christmas.”


For Wales:
Tries: Smith, Penalty Try, Adams, Morgan
Cons: Price 3

For Australia:
Tries: McCalman, Fakaosilea;
Cons: Deegan

15 Morgan Williams (Llandrillo), 14 Rhys Geally (YG Gwyr), 13 Garyn Smith (Cardiff Met), 12 Tyler Morgan (Caerleon), 11 Josh Adams (Sir Ga), 10 Luke Price (Maesydderwen), 9 Tom Williams (Treorchy Comp), 8  Jon Fox (Gower) (captain), 7 Ollie Griffiths (Newport), 6 Jordan Viggers (St David's), 5 Matthew Dodd (Olchfa), 4 Joe Davies (Newport High),  3 Keegan Bale (Coleg Gwent), 2 Ryan Elias (Sir Ga), 1 Alex Jeffries (Coleg Gwent)
Replacements: Liam Belcher (Porth County), Harrison Walsh (Bishopgore), Leon Brown (Newport High), Seb Davies (Coleg y Cymoedd), Harri Keddie (Coleg Gwent), Dan Brooks (Cardiff Uni), Dan Jones (Sir Gar), Joe Thomas (Neath Port Talbot)

Australia from: Joshua Anderson (Oakhill College), Lachlan Cannell (Newington College), Andrew Deegan ( St Joseph's College), Junior Fakaosilea (St Patrick's College), Vunipola Fifita (Newington College), Evander Guttenbeil (The Southport School), Ned Hanigan (St Joseph's College), Adrian Henley(Trinity Anglican School), Henry Hutchison (St Ignatius College), Maclean Jones (St Joseph's Nudgee College), Andrew Kellaway (The Scots College), Douglas MacMillan (Anglican Church Grammar), Alex Mafi (St Joseph's Nudgee College), Campbell Magnay (St Joseph's Nudgee College), Jack McCalman (The Kings School), Connal McInerney (Erindale College), Taane Milne (Newington College), Tepai Moeroa (Newington College), Keith Morgan (St Edmund's College), David Morris (Newington College), Fereti Saaga (Thornbury High), Matthew Sandell (St Joseph's College), Faaope Satui (Trinity Grammar School), Mitchell Short (The Scot's College), Moses Sorovi (St Peter's Lutheran College), Siuta Tai (Marist College Canberra), Mitch Third (The Southport School), James Todd (Ipswich Grammar School), James Tuttle (St Joseph's Nudgee College), Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco (Endeavour Sports High School)

Referee: David Procter (England)
Assistant referees: John Mason (Wales), Stuart Vaudin (Wales)

PV: 4
Aus Schools lose again in Wales | Rugby365