Sorry there are no live games.
See what's coming up.
No games this week.
Full schedule >
Tue 2 Oct 2012 | 02:45

Aussie schools lose again

Aussie schools lose again
Tue 2 Oct 2012 | 02:45

Aussie schools lose again


For the second time on their five-match tour to Fiji and New Zealand, the Australian schools side was beaten. This time, in the third match of their tour,  the New Zealand Barbarians beat them 24-5 at Sacred Heart College in Auckland.

The Australian schoolboys lost their opening match 18-9 to Fijian President’s XV in Nadi. They then beat Fiji Secondary Schools 29-12 in Lautoka.

the match started at great speed but the defences were determined and it was not till the 22nd minutes that the first score came – a try by flank Mitchell Karpik, converted by flyhalf Damien McKenzie.

Just before half-time left wing John Porch finished off a backline move to make the score 7-5 at the break.

Early in the second half the New Zealanders goaled a penalty and then scored a try by scrumhalf Leon Fukofula after his side had won a tighthead at a scrum. McKenzie again converted for a 17-5 lead.

Just before the end Michael Green scored and McKenzie converted. 24-5, three tries to one.


For NZ Barbarians:
Tries: Mitchell Karpik, Leon Fukofula, Michael Green.
Cons: Damien McKenzie 3
Pen: Damien Mckenzie.

For Australian Schools:
Try: John Porch

 Australian Sschools:
15 Jonah Placid, 14 Andrew Robinson, 13 Jim Stewart, 12 Tepai Moeroa, 11 John Porch, 10 Reece Hodge, 9 Andrew Ferris, 8 Jack Cornelsen, 7 Brad Wilkin, 6  Mitchell Whiteley, 5 Adam Korczyk, 4  Matt Philip,  3 Neori Nadruku, 2 Francois Postal, 1 Siotame Kavapalu.
Replacements: 16 Aaron Pleash, 17 Tom Wilson, 18 Tomas Robertson, 19 Jack Dempsey, 20 Michael Gunn, 21Angus Pulver, 22 Kemu Valetini, 23 Jake McIntyre
New Zealand Secondary Schools Barbarians: Bram Egli (King’s College), Leon Fukofuka (Kelston Boys' High School), Mitchell Karpik (King’s College), Tau Kolomatangi (Wesley College), Luteru Laulala (Wesley College), Seluini Molia (Wesley College), Liam Polwart (Sacred Heart College), Jack Falloon (St Kentigern College), TJ Fiane (St Kentigern College), Dillon Wihongi (St Kentigern College), Michael Green (Christchurch Boys' High School), Billy Harmon (St Bede’s College), Damian McKenzie (Christ’s College), Sean Connor (Otago Boys' High School), Aleki Morris (Otago Boys' High School), Mitchell Jacobson (Cambridge High School), Wade McLean-Te Huia (Hamilton Boys' High School), Kerry Love (Napier Boys' High School), Mitchell Drummond (Nelson College), Otere Black (Tu Toa), Jordon Brown (Feilding High School), Ezekiel Sopoaga (Wellington College), Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Wellington College), Richard Mo’unga (St Andrew's College)  

Referee: Ryan Nixon (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Marius Botha (New Zealand), Steve Piacun (New Zealand)

PV: 6
Aussie Schools Lose Again | Rugby365