Thu 20 Jun 2013 | 11:12

Maritzburg goes to Botha's Hill

Maritzburg goes to Botha's Hill
Thu 20 Jun 2013 | 11:12

Maritzburg goes to Botha's Hill


Maritzburg College go down the road to Kearsney College on Thursday 20 June, the day before the schools break up, to play the matches which were washed out by rain on 8 June.

They are two of the strongest rugby schools in KwaZulu Natal, though at 1st XV level Kearsney have been having much the better of the season. In fact they have lost just once – to Paarl Gim at the start of the season. College on the other hand have lost six times, though they have played more often. Not all of the matches are against common opponents.

Results against Common Opponents

Framesby: Kearsney won 25-8; College drew 16-all
Glenwood: Kearsney won 26-25; College lost 44-40
Northwood: Kearsney won 30-0; College won 26-13
DHS: Kearsney won 74-6; College won 38-11
Michaelhouse: Kearsney won 38-5; College won 23-9
Hilton: Kearsney won 34-9; College lost 38-22

The only remarkable difference is the Hilton result.

Representative Players

Kearney have six players in the KwaZulu Natal Craven Week side, College four.

Kearsney: Jordan Meaker, Daniel du Preez, Jean-Luc du Preez, Ayron Schramm, Matthew Reece-Edwards, Tristan Tedder

Maritzburg College: Thabiso Zuma, Njabula Gumede, Marcel Coetzee, Banele Ngwenya.

But they will not all be playing. The Du Preez twins, who both played for SA Schools last year, will not be playing for Kearsney and College will be without Zims Zuma, Marcell Coetzee and Banele Ngwenya. In fact only prop Gumede will be playing. The absence of the Du Preez brothers could really count.


Kearsney College: 15 Christopher Lines, 14 Thuthu Ndlovu, 13 Blaire Cremer, 12 Tyler Smith, 11 Ryan van der Waal, 10 Tristan Tedder, 9 Matthew Reece-Edwards, 8 Ayron Schramm, 7 Jesse Rich, 6 Jarred Hayes-Hill, 5 Bevan Jackson, 4 Mitchell du Toit, 3 Mthokozisi Moloi, 2 Jordan Meaker, 1 Tijde Visser

Maritzburg College: 15 Kelvin Elder, 14 S Lithgo, 13 Jordan Koekemoer, 12 Simon Culverwell, 11 Byron Watson, 10 Jason Alexander, 9 Lucas Booysen, 8 Darren Goodsen, 7 Renard le Roux, 6 Jacques Conradie, 5 Seko Buthelezi (captain), 4 Wiaan Jacobs, 3 Njubulo Gumede, 2 Vuyo Kahtide, 1 Tiaan Steyn

Rugby Programme for 20 June 2013

14.45: 1st XV on Stott    Field
13.30: 2nd XV on Stott Field
12.15: 3rd XV on Stott Field
13.30: 4th XV on Osler Field
13.00: 5th XV on AH Smith Field
12.00: 6th XV on Matterson Field
12.15: Under-16C vs College D on Osler Field
15.30: Under-15C vs College D on Matterson Field
14.30: Under-15D  vs College C on Matterson Field
12.00: Under-14A: on AH Smith Field
11.00: Under-14B: on AH Smith Field

PV: 13
Maritzburg Goes To Botha's Hill | Rugby365