Sorry there are no live games.
See what's coming up.
No games this week.
Full schedule >
Sat 12 Aug 2017 | 04:00

Province run Bulls ragged at Newlands

Province run Bulls ragged at Newlands
Sat 12 Aug 2017 | 04:00

Province run Bulls ragged at Newlands


The dominant first-half display saw WP run into a massive 42-13 half-time lead and sat back for the next 40 minutes as the Bulls looked for a way back in.

The Bulls did score three fine tries after the break and outscored Province 21-3 in the second half.

However, the game was long over as a contest and all they got for their efforts were a four-try bonus point.

It was the second win of the campaign for coach John Dobson's team who have not lost at Newlands in the Currie Cup this season.

The Blue Bulls were first to score through a penalty from flyhalf Tony Jantjies, but Western Province responded with the opening try as a counter-attack saw Sarel Marais find Seabelo Senatla in space to put Nizaam Carr over in the corner.

The visitors kicked another penalty but they were soon 14-6 down as Western Province flyhalf Damian Willemse produced an incredible solo try, stepping his way past a number of defenders to score.

With the momentum firmly on their side Western Province continued to press home their advantage as Marais forced his way over from close range.

The bonus point try did not take long as Senatla scored out wide after getting a well-weighted pass from centre Huw Jones.

A powerful maul saw Siyabonga Ntubeni score the fifth try before the Blue Bulls hit back with a try of their own against the run of play from scrumhalf Piet van Zyl.

Senatla scored his second try shortly before the break, but Western Province were reduced to 14 men just before half-time with centre EW Viljoen shown a yellow card.

The Blue Bulls made a determined start to the second half and they were rewarded with two tries from right wing Kefentse Mahlo, before Western Province made it 45-27 with a Marais penalty with 20 minutes left.

However, the visitors continued to fight back as replacement hooker Johan Grobbelaar went over for their bonus point try, but it was not enough as Western Province held on for the win.

Man of the match: Tony Jantjies was the stand-out player for the Blue Bulls in a shocking first-half performance – even showing a bigger desire than his forwards to contest at the breakdowns. In the second half scrumhalf Piet van Zyl steered the ship for the Bulls with some sound decision-making. You can pick anyone of the Stormers players – they were all simply sublime in a dominant first half. After the break they went onto cruise mode, but by half-time this game was long over as a contest. Our award goes to Western Province flyhalf Damian Willemse, who sparked the rout with his sublime skills.

The scorers:

For Western Province:
Carr, Willemse, Marais, Senatla 2, Ntubeni
Cons: Marais 6
Pen: Marais

For the Blue Bulls:
 Van Zyl, Mahlo 2, Grobbelaar
Cons: Jantjies 3, Stander
Pens: Jantjies 2

Yellow cards: EW Viljoen (Western Province, 40 – foul play, no arms used in the tackle), Michael Kumbirai (Western Province, 74 – cynical foul, kicking the ball away)


Western Province: 15 Sarel Marais, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Huw Jones, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Kobus van Dyk, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 John Schickerling, 4 Chris van Zyl (captain), 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Siyabonga Ntubeni, 1 Jacobus Janse van Rensburg.
Replacements: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Michael Kumbirai, 18 Eddie Zandberg, 19 Stephan de Wit, 20 Justin Phillips, 21 Kurt Coleman, 22 Dan Kriel.

Blue Bulls: 15 Manie Libbok, 14 Kefentse Mahlo, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Burger Odendaal, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Tony Jantjies, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Nic de Jager, 7 Jannes Kirsten, 6 Johannes Prinsloo (captain), 5 Ruben van Heerden, 4 Irne Herbst, 3 John-Roy Jenkinson, 2 Jan-Henning Campher, 1 Pierre Schoeman.
Replacements: 16 Johan Grobbelaar, 17 Matthys Basson, 18 Abongile Nonkontwana, 19 Shaun Adendorff, 20 Andre Warner, 21 Joshua Stander, 22 John Jackson.

Referee: Stuart Berry
Assistant referees: Jaco Pretorius, Nathan Swartz
TMO: Joey Klaaste-Salmans

PV: 2
Province Run Bulls Ragged At Newlands | Rugby365