Thu 21 Sep 2017 | 12:32

Province rush their Springboks back

Province rush their Springboks back
Thu 21 Sep 2017 | 12:32

Province rush their Springboks back


Following his team's disappointing loss to the Pumas last week, Dobson named fullback Dillyn Leyds, inside centre Damian de Allende and tighthead prop Wilco Louw in the starting line-up to face Griquas at Newlands on Saturday.

Leyds will link up at the back with wings Seabelo Senatla and Werner Kok, with Ruhan Nel providing cover on the replacements bench.

De Allende forms a midfield partnership with Scotland international Huw Jones, who shifts to outside centre – with EW Viljoen ruled out through injury.

In the absence of scrumhalf Jano Vermaak, who is being rested, Dewaldt Duvenage links up with Damian Willemse at halfback – with Justin Phillips and Rob du Preez set to make an impact in the second half.

The only two changes to the forward pack come in the front row – as Louw returns and Chad Solomon makes his first start of the Currie Cup campaign.

There are two further additions to the replacements bench.

Hooker Dean Muir and loose forward Johan du Toit are both getting an opportunity to make their Currie Cup debut for Western Province.

Province captain Chris van Zyl will earn his 50th cap in the Currie Cup encounter with Griquas.

Western Province: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Werner Kok, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Cobus Wiese, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 John Schickerling, 4 Chris van Zyl (captain), 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Chad Solomon, 1 Jacobus Janse van Rensburg.
Replacements: 16 Dean Muir, 17 Caylib Oosthuizen, 18 Johan du Toit, 19 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 20 Justin Phillips, 21 Robert du Preez, 22 Ruhan Nel.

Date: Saturday, September 23
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-off: 17.15 (15.15 GMT)
Referee: Cwengile Jadezweni
Assistant referees: Marius van der Westhuizen, Sinethemba Mrulwa
TMO: Joey Klaaste-Salmans

PV: 2
Province rush their Springboks back | Rugby365