Sun 22 Oct 2017 | 02:09

Armand double seals Exeter win

Armand double seals Exeter win
Sun 22 Oct 2017 | 02:09

Armand double seals Exeter win


It was a spectacular win for the Chiefs, who battled hard and produced some brilliant defending fir the victory in France.

Nemani Nadolo was majestic for Montpellier, but they take only a pair of bonus points – one for scoring for tries and another for losing by seven points or less – away from the Altrad Stadium.

Outside centre Joe Tomane was the first to cross the line, but Armand scored the first of his close-range tries, with Gareth Steenson added the conversion and a penalty two minutes later.

However, Benoit Paillaugue then scored, before a brilliant try by Fijian wing Nemani Nadolo gave the hosts a 17-10 lead at half time.

Ian Whitten's converted try for the Chiefs levelled matters on 44 minutes, but Nadolo re-established Montpellier's lead straight away with his second try of the game.

Back came Exeter, and Armand burrowed over for his second of the game, with Steenson converting to level the scores, before he clinched the win with eight minutes remaining with a penalty.

Prior to this game, Montpellier had been beaten at home just four times in the history of the competition, and had won their last four home Champions Cup games.

Exeter now sit second in Pool Three with eight points, behind Leinster on 10.

Montpellier, who lost at Leinster last weekend, sit third on three points, with Glasgow last on zero.

The scorers:

For Montpellier:
Tomane, Paillaugue, Nadolo 2
Cons: Paillaugue 2

For Exeter Chiefs
Armand 2, Whitten
Cons: Steenson 3
Pens: Steenson 2

Yellow card: Jesse Mogg (Montpellier, 19)


Montpellier: 15 Jesse Mogg, 14 Benjamin Fall, 13 Joseph Tomane, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Nemani Nadolo, 10 Benoit Paillaugue, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Louis Picamoles, 7 Yacouba Camara, 6 Kelian Galletier, 5 Nicholaas van Rensburg, 4 Jacques du Plessis, 3 Antoine Guillamon, 2 Romain Ruffenach, 1 Mikheil Nariashvili.
Replacements: 16 Charles Geli, 17 Grégory Fichten, 18 Davit Kubriashvili, 19 Julien Delannoy, 20 Wiaan Liebenberg, 21 Enzo Sanga, 22 Timoci Nagusa, 23 Joffrey Michel.

Exeter Chiefs: 15 Phil Dollman, 14 Lachie Turner, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Ian Whitten, 11 Olly Woodburn, 10 Gareth Steenson, 9 Nic White, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Julian Salvi, 6 Don Armand, 5 Jonny Hill, 4 Mitch Lees, 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Jack Yeandle (captain), 1 Ben Moon .
Replacements: 16 Elvis Taione, 17 Alec Hepburn, 18 Harry Williams, 19 Ollie Atkins, 20 Sam Simmonds, 21 Will Chudley, 22 Tom Hendrickson, 23 James Short.

Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Andrew Brace (Ireland), Joy Neville (Ireland)
TMO: Simon McDowell (Ireland)

Source: @ChampionsCup


PV: 2
Armand Double Seals Exeter Win | Rugby365