Sun 14 Jan 2018 | 12:30

Leinster secure home Euro quarterfinal

Leinster secure home Euro quarterfinal
Sun 14 Jan 2018 | 12:30

Leinster secure home Euro quarterfinal


The Irish side scored eight tries on their way to victory in a match which they dominated throughout.

The win means Leinster have won five from five this season so far, while the Warriors are still winless.

The Irish province got the job done with a blistering first-half display as Glasgow were unable to deal with their quick, slick handling.

Jordi Murphy was the first to go over after seven minutes and although the Scottish side levelled through the dancing feet of Fijian Niko Matawalu, Isa Nacewa sliced through to get Leinster's second soon afterwards.

Leinster overcame a yellow card for Murphy with Sean Cronin adding a third and Scott Fardy a bonus point-securing fourth after just 35 minutes. Jonny Sexton flopped over in the corner for a fifth before half time to make it 34-7.

From a line-out, Nacewa added his second and Leinster's sixth try after half-time, and although Adam Ashe reduced arrears for Glasgow James Lowe soon hit back with his first Champions Cup try for Leinster.

Matawalu got his second and Glasgow's third, but Fardy ensured the final cheers were Irish by spinning away from a driving maul to touch down Leinster's eighth try.

Having secured a home quarterfinal, Leinster can now take their foot off the gas somewhat at Montpellier next Saturday as the French side battle for second spot with Exeter – who visit bottom side Glasgow.

The scorers:

For Leinster:
Tries: Murphy, Nacewa 2, Cronin, Fardy 2, Sexton, Lowe
Cons: Sexton 3, Byrne 3
Pen: Sexton

For Glasgow Warriors:
Tries: Matawalu 2, Ashe
Cons: P Horne, Thomson

Yellow card: Jordi Murphy (Leinster, 11 – Professional foul)


Leinster: 15 Jordan Larmour, 14 Fergus McFadden, 13 Robbie Henshaw, 12 Isa Nacewa (captain), 11 James Lowe, 10 Johnny Sexton, 9 Luke McGrath, 8 Jack Conan, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Jordi Murphy, 5 Scott Fardy, 4 Devin Toner, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Seán Cronin, 1 Jack McGrath.
Replacements: 16 Bryan Byrne, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Andrew Porter, 19 James Ryan, 20 Dan Leavy, 21 Nick McCarthy, 22 Ross Byrne, 23 Rob Kearney.

Glasgow Warriors: 15 Ruaridh Jackson, 14 Lee Jones, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Nick Grigg, 11 Niko Matawalu, 10 Peter Horne, 9 Ali Price, 8 Adam Ashe, 7 Matt Smith, 6 Matt Fagerson, 5 Greg Peterson, 4 Rob Harley (captain), 3 Siua Halanukonuka, 2 George Turner, 1 Jamie Bhatti.
Replacements: 16 Grant Stewart, 17 Alex Allan, 18 D’Arcy Rae, 19 Kiran McDonald, 20 Chris Fusaro, 21 George Horne, 22 Brandon Thomson, 23 Henry Pyrgos.

Referee: Marius Mitrea (Italy)
Assistant referees: Matteo Liperini (Italy), Simone Boaretto (Italy)
TMO: Stefano Penne (Italy)



PV: 2
Leinster secure home Euro quarterfinal | Rugby365