Sun 14 Jan 2018 | 06:16

Racing edge Munster in Paris

Racing edge Munster in Paris
Sun 14 Jan 2018 | 06:16

Racing edge Munster in Paris


Maxime Machenaud finished with 20 points for the hosts, whose victory puts them one point behind the Irishmen going into next weekend's pool stage climax.

The sides exchanged tries in the first half through Yannick Nyanga and Jean Kleyn, with Machenaud's boot the difference as the hosts led 13-7 at the interval. 

Missed penalties by Conor Murray and Ian Keatley proved costly for the visitors.

Marc Andreu squeezed over in the corner for Racing's second try but Keith Earls' balletic footwork saw him brilliantly reduce arrears to 18-14.

Chris Farrell's try then gave Munster the advantage before an exchange of penalties saw the lead change hands. Racing struck a big blow, though, when Teddy Thomas set up Dimitri Szarzewski to put them 28-27 ahead.

A monster penalty by Murray was swiftly followed by three points from the tee by Machenaud and the French scrumhalf was faultless again as he clinched a dramatic win with another late kick.

Munster know a bonus-point win at home to Castres Olympique next Sunday afternoon will guarantee top spot. Racing 92 travel to Leicester Tigers and must better Munster's result or face the perils of the best runners-up calculator.

The scorers:

For Racing 92:
Tries: Nyanga, Andreu, Szarzewski
Cons: Machenaud 2
Pens: Machenaud 5

For Munster:
Tries: Kleyn, Earls, Farrell
Cons: Keatley 3
Pens: Keatley 2, Murray


Racing 92: 15 Louis Dupichot, 14 Teddy Thomas, 13 Virimi Vakatawa, 12 Henry Chavancy, 11 Marc Andreu, 10 Rémi Tales, 9 Maxime Machenaud, 8 Leone Nakarawa, 7 Wenceslas Lauret, 6 Yannick Nyanga, 5 Edwin Maka, 4 Donnacha Ryan, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Camille Chat, 1 Eddy Ben Arous.
Replacements: 16 Dimitri Szarzewski, 17 Vasil Kakovin, 18 Cedate Gomes Sa, 19 Baptiste Chouzenoux, 20 Boris Palu, 21 Xavier Chauveau, 22 Benjamin Dambielle, 23 Joe Rokocoko.

Munster: 15 Simon Zebo, 14 Andrew Conway, 13 Chris Farrell, 12 Rory Scannell, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Ian Keatley, 9 Conor Murray, 8 CJ Stander, 7 Chris Cloete, 6 Peter O’Mahony (captain), 5 Billy Holland, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Stephen Archer, 2 Rhys Marshall, 1 Dave Kilcoyne.
Replacements: 16 Kevin O’Byrne, 17 James Cronin, 18 John Ryan, 19 Darren O’Shea, 20 Jack O’Donoghue, 21 Duncan Williams, 22 JJ Hanrahan, 23 Alex Wootton.

Referee: Matthew Carley (England)
Assistant referees: Christophe Ridley (England), Roy Maybank (England)
TMO: Rowan Kitt (England)


PV: 2
Racing Edge Munster In Paris | Rugby365