Sat 7 Apr 2018 | 06:44

Saracens crush Northampton; as Leicester stun Bath

Saracens crush Northampton; as Leicester stun Bath
Sat 7 Apr 2018 | 06:44

Saracens crush Northampton; as Leicester stun Bath


In other Saturday matches Leicester boosted their play-off-hopes with victory against Bath.

Mark McCall's men scored nine tries, taking their tally against Northampton this season to 33 in just four matches. They have racked up a half-century of points on each occasion.

There were nine separate scorers, with Alex Lozowski, Schalk Brits, Ben Spencer, Mako Vunipola, Liam Williams, Chris Wyles, Sean Maitland, Jackson Wray and Nathan Earle all going over.

Northampton were well in the game at half-time, trailing just 13-15, with Reece Marshall having bagged a try on his first Premiership start.

But second-placed Saracens turned the screw in the second half, recovering from their European quarterfinal defeat at Leinster with a stunning showing.

Leicester, playing at Twickenham, scored two tries in the last seven minutes to carry them to a 34-19 win against Bath.

With six minutes left, Leicester took a crucial lead as Sam Harrison thrust himself over for his side's bonus-point touchdown, converted by George Ford.

And the win was confirmed as Telusa Veainu went through a gap for Leicester's fifth try that Ford converted to leave Bath needing a miracle to reach the play-offs this season.

Leicester moved up to third with three games to play while Bath are stuck in eighth.

Newcastle's play-off hopes suffered a setback as Worcester came from behind to stun them 27-13 at Sixways.

The visitors dropped out of the top four and trail Wasps in the final play-off position by two points.

Piet van Zyl scored two tries as an excellent all-round display from London Irish gave them a 35-5 victory over Harlequins at the Stoop – just their third win of the Premiership season.

But the Exiles remain rooted to the foot of the table and would likely need to win their final three matches to stand any chance of avoiding an immediate return to the Championship.

Scores and scores

Bath 19 Leicester 34

The scorers:

For Bath:
Con: Priestland
Pens: Priestland 4

For Leicester:
Thompstone, Kalamafoni 2, Harrison, Veainu
Cons: Ford 3
Pen: Ford

Yellow cards: Kahn Fotuali'i (Bath, 19), Shaun Knight (Bath, 24), Adam Thompstone (Leicester Tigers, 64)


Bath: 15 James Wilson, 14 Matt Banahan, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Ben Tapuai, 11 Aled Brew, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Kahn Fotuali’i, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Matt Garvey, 5 Elliott Stooke, 4 Charlie Ewels, 3 Shaun Knight, 2 Tom Dunn, 1 Beno Obano.
Replacements: 16 Jack Walker, 17 Lucas Noguera, 18 Victor Delmas, 19 James Phillips, 20 Tom Ellis, 21 Max Green, 22 Freddie Burns, 23 Cooper Vuna.

Leicester Tigers: 15 Telusa Veainu, 14 Adam Thompstone, 13 Mathew Tait, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Jonny May, 10 George Ford (captain), 9 Sam Harrison, 8 Sione Kalamafoni, 7 Luke Hamilton, 6 Valentino Mapapalangi, 5 Graham Kitchener, 4 Mike Fitzgerald, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Ellis Genge.
Replacements: 16 Tom Youngs, 17 Greg Bateman, 18 Logovi’i Mulipola, 19 Harry Wells, 20 Will Evans, 21 Harry Simmons, 22 Matt Smith, 23 Jordan Olowofela.

Referee: Wayne Barnes
Assistant referees: Hamish Smales, Wayne Falla
TMO: Geoff Warren

Harlequins 5 London Irish 35

The scorers:

For Harlequins:

For London Irish:
Van Zyl 2, Northcote-Green, Fowlie
Cons: Bell 3
Pens: Bell 3

Yellow Cards: Danny Care (Harlequins, 61), Charlie Matthews (Harlequins, 69)


Harlequins: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Charlie Walker, 13 Joe Marchant, 12 Francis Saili, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Marcus Smith, 9 Danny Care, 8 Jack Clifford, 7 Chris Robshaw, 6 Mat Luamanu, 5 Stan South, 4 Charlie Matthews, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Dave Ward (captain), 1 Joe Marler.
Replacements: 16 Joe Gray, 17 Mark Lambert, 18 Will Collier, 19 George Merrick, 20 Archie White, 21 Dave Lewis, 22 James Lang, 23 Alofa Alofa.

London Irish: 15 Tommy Bell, 14 Joe Cokanasiga, 13 Tom Fowlie, 12 Theo Brophy Clews, 11 Alex Lewington, 10 James Marshall, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Ofisa Treviranus, 7 Max Northcote-Green, 5 Josh McNally, 6 Jake Schatz, 4 Franco van der Merwe (captain), 3 Ollie Hoskins, 2 David Paice, 1 Ben Franks.
Replacements: 16 Dave Porecki, 17 Gordon Reid, 18 Petrus du Plessis, 19 Sebastian De Chaves, 20 Josh Basham, 21 Scott Steele, 22 Greig Tonks, 23 Aseli Tikoirotuma.

Referee: Ian Tempest
Assistant referees: Roy Maybank, Phil Watters
TMO: David Grashoff

Northampton 13 Saracens 63

The scorers:

For Northampton:
Con: Myler
Pens: Myler 2

For Saracens:
Lozowski, Brits, Spencer, Vunipola, Williams, Wyles, Maitland, Wray, Earle
Cons: Farrell 6
Pens: Farrell 2


Northampton Saints: 15 Ahsee Tuala, 14 Nafi Tuitavake, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Piers Francis, 11 George North, 10 Stephen Myler, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Teimana Harrison, 7 Jamie Gibson, 6 David Ribbans, 5 Christian Day (captain), 4 Api Ratuniyarawa, 3 Kieran Brookes, 2 Reece Marshall, 1 Campese Ma’afu.
Replacements: 16 Charlie Clare, 17 Francois van Wyk, 18 Ehren Painter, 19 Michael Paterson, 20 Ben Nutley, 21 Alex Mitchell, 22 Tom Collins, 23 Ben Foden.

Saracens: 15 Liam Williams, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Alex Lozowski, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 Chris Wyles, 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Ben Spencer, 8 Jackson Wray, 7 Blair Cowan, 6 Nick Isiekwe, 5 George Kruis, 4 Maro Itoje, 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Schalk Brits, 1 Mako Vunipola.
Replacements: 16 Jamie George, 17 Richard Barrington, 18 Kieran Longbottom, 19 Dominic Day, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Richard Wigglesworth, 22 Duncan Taylor, 23 Nathan Earle.

Referee: Craig Maxwell-Keys
Assistant referees: Anthony Woodthorpe, Simon McConnell
TMO: David Rose

Worcester 27 Newcastle 13

The scorers:

For Worcester:
Denton 2, Schonert
Cons: Jones 3
Pens: Pennell 2

For Newcastle:
Con: Flood
Pens: Flood 2


Worcester Warriors: 15 Chris Pennell, 14 Bryce Heem, 13 Ben Te’o, 12 Jackson Willison, 11 Josh Adams, 10 Jamie Shillcock, 9 Jonny Arr, 8 GJ van Velze (captain), 7 Sam Lewis, 6 David Denton, 5 Will Spencer, 4 Darren Barry, 3 Nick Schonert, 2 Jack Singleton, 1 Ryan Bower.
Replacements: 16 Kurt Haupt, 17 Gareth Milasinovich, 18 Simon Kerrod, 19 Andrew Kitchener, 20 Marco Mama, 21 Grayson Hart, 22 Dorian Jones, 23 Dean Hammond.

Newcastle Falcons: 15 Alex Tait, 14 Vereniki Goneva, 13 Chris Harris, 12 Josh Matavesi, 11 Sinoti Sinoti, 10 Toby Flood, 9 Sam Stuart, 8 Nili Latu, 7 Will Welch (captain), 6 Evan Olmstead, 5 Sean Robinson, 4 Calum Green, 3 Scott Wilson, 2 Kyle Cooper, 1 Sam Lockwood.
Replacements: 16 Scott Lawson, 17 Rob Vickers, 18 Trevor Davison, 19 Will Witty, 20 Callum Chick, 21 Joel Hodgson, 22 Dominic Waldouck, 23 Adam Radwan.

Referee: Christophe Ridley
Assistant referees: Karl Dickson, Adam Leal
TMO: Stuart Terheege

PV: 2
Saracens Crush Northampton; As Leicester Stun Bath | Rugby365