Thu 5 Apr 2018 | 12:08

Du Toit back at No.10 for Munster clash

Du Toit back at No.10 for Munster clash
Thu 5 Apr 2018 | 12:08

Du Toit back at No.10 for Munster clash


Flyhalf Martin du Toit returns to the starting line up in place of Kurt Coleman who was ruled out for the rest of the season after fracturing his left leg against Benetton and there are also changes at wing and centre. 

Yaw Penxe returns at left wing in place of Alshaun Bock. Michael Makase retains his spot on the opposite wing. Jacques Nel gets a rare opportunity to start in the No.12 jersey, switching with Luzuko Vulindlu who moves to the bench.

Davids has left intact the entire forward pack that did duty in the narrow 36-35 defeat against Benetton. 

The big story amongst the replacements is the inclusion of Justin Forwood in the squad for the first time this season. The talented front-row returns after long-term injury. In other changes Dukisa Ntabeni, Rudi van Rooyen and Alandre van Rooyen take over as replacements from Tango Balekile, Rowan Gouws and Martin Du Toit.

Davids stressed the need for his players to take individual responsibility for their decision-making after the loss to Benetton and indicated that this was an area his players had been working hard on ahead for the Munster match. 

"Our defensive systems are sound but they still require the player that is in place and in position to execute what we've practiced – whether it's to make a tackle or kick into touch. Munster are a very good side and if we make errors and don’t execute well they will punish us," he said.

Southern Kings: 15 Masixole Banda, 14 Michael Makase, 13 Jacques Nel, 12 Berton Klaasen, 11 Yaw Penxe, 10 Martin Du Toit, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Ruaan Lerm, 7 Martinus Burger, 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 Bobby De Wee, 4 Stephan Greeff, 3 Pieter Scholtz, 2 Stephan Coetzee, 1 Schalk Ferreira (captain).
Replacements: 16 Alandre Van Rooyen, 17Justin Forwood, 18 Luvuyo Pupuma, 19 Lubabalo Mtyanda, 20 Lusanda Badiyana, 21 Rudi Van Rooyen, 22 Ntabeni Dukisa, 23 Luzuko Vulindlu.

Munster: TBC

Date: Saturday, April 7
Venue: Outeniqua Park, George
Kick-off: 19.35 (18.35 UK & Ireland time; 17.35 GMT)
Referee: Lloyd Linton (Scotland) 
Assistant referees: Quinton Immelman (South Africa), Ruhan Meiring  (South Africa)
TMO: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)

PV: 2
Du Toit Back At No.10 For Munster Clash | Rugby365