Sat 16 Sep 2017 | 05:45

Kleyn stars in Munster win

Kleyn stars in Munster win
Sat 16 Sep 2017 | 05:45

Kleyn stars in Munster win


The scores cancelled out James Hook's early try for the hosts as the sides battled tricky conditions in south Wales.

The Irish outfit had registered two bonus-point victories from two going into the clash at the Liberty Stadium and struck the first blow when Tyler Bleyendaal slotted home a penalty on nine minutes, having missed two earlier kicks.

However, Hook charged over from the 22 as Ospreys replied immediately, Sam Davies, who kicked impressively all afternoon, making no mistake with the extras.

But back came Munster, and South Africa lock Kleyn crashed over for his third try in three games, Bleyendaal adding the two as the visitors opened up a 10-7 advantage.

The ball was in the air for much of the half as both sides searched for a way to trouble the opposition defences.

And it was the visitors who secured the crucial score and stretched their advantage further four minutes before half-time. Wing Sweetnam crossed the whitewash after smart link-up play between Chris Farrell and Sean O'Connor.

Ospreys rallied and moved with a score of the visitors at the start of the second half, Davies landing a monster kick from distance after Munster were penalised for offside.

However, this was short-lived, as Tyler returned the favour moments later after prop Ma'afu Fia was brought back for trying to halt a Munster attack.

Steve Tandy shuffled his back and brought on Guy Mercer and Adam Beard for Dan Lydiate and Lloyd Ashley, while John Ryan took to the turf for his 100th Munster appearance, coming on for Stephen Archer.

Davies kicked a second penalty of the afternoon as the hosts stayed in touch, and he added a third on 63 minutes from near the halfway line as Ospreys chipped the deficit down to just two points.

The Welsh side hammered away at the Munster defence, but the visitors stood tall and kept the hosts at bay.

And Bleyendaal slotted over another penalty four minutes from time to give Munster breathing space.

Despite Ospreys enjoying late possession, Keelan Giles was forced into touch as Munster made it three victories from three and emerge as the team to beat in Conference A.

The scorers:

For Ospreys:
Try: Hook
Con: Davies
Pens: Davies 3

For Munster:
Tries: Kleyn, Sweetnam
Con: Bleyendaal
Pens: Bleyendaal 3


Ospreys: 15 Dan Evans, 14 Keelan Giles, 13 Cory Allen, 12 James Hook, 11 Jeff Hassler, 10 Sam Davies, 9 Tom Habberfield, 8 Dan Baker, 7 Justin Tipuric (captain), 6 James King, 5 Lloyd Ashley, 4 Bradley Davies, 3 Ma’afu Fia, 2 Sam Parry, 1 Paul James.
Replacements: 16 Scott Baldwin, 17 Nicky Smith, 18 Rhodri Jones, 19 Adam Beard, 20 Dan Lydiate, 21 Matthew Aubrey, 22 Dan Biggar, 23 Kieron Fonotia.

Munster: 15 Andrew Conway, 14 Darren Sweetnam, 13 Chris Farrell, 12 Jaco Taute, 11 Alex Wootton, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal (captain), 9 Duncan Williams, 8 Jack O’Donoghue, 7 Tommy O’Donnell, 6 Sean O’Connor, 5 Billy Holland, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Stephen Archer, 2 Rhys Marshall, 1 Liam O’Connor.
Replacements: 16 Niall Scannell, 17 James Cronin, 18 John Ryan, 19 Fineen Wycherley, 20 Robin Copeland, 21 James Hart, 22 Rory Scannell, 23 Simon Zebo.

Referee: Stuart Berry (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Dan Jones (Wales), Adam Jones (Wales)
TMO: Tim Hayes (Wales)

Source: @PRO14Official

PV: 2
Kleyn stars in Munster win | Rugby365