Sun 31 Dec 2017 | 07:55

Ospreys finish in style

Ospreys finish in style
Sun 31 Dec 2017 | 07:55

Ospreys finish in style


Scott Baldwin, Cory Allen and Dan Evans scored tries for Ospreys while Dan Bigger added seven points with his boot.

Three penalties from Arwel Robson was all the Dragons could muster in response.

It is Ospreys third win of the season and moves them to within a point of Zebra.

Ospreys got off to the best possible start when Baldwin went over for the first try of the game.

The Dragons were penalised for collapsing the scrum and Bigger put the penalty 10 meters out from the Dragons line, Adam Beard won the line out and Baldwin goes over after a powerful maul. Bigger then successfully added the extras with the conversion.

The Dragons got on the scoresheet when Robson knocked over a penalty.

But Ospreys extend their lead minutes later when Rhys Webb kicked a high ball which Bigger beat Jared Rosser to, before sprinting for the line.

Before he was bundled into touch, Bigger managed to offload the ball to Cory Allen who beats two defenders to go over the line.

Dragons managed to cut the deficit to six points when Dmitri Arhip was penalised for killing the ball in his own 22 at the breakdown and Robson knocked over the penalty.

Jack Dixon was shown a yellow card for Dragons 10 minutes before the break for killing the ball on his own line after Dan Evans made a break for the line.

It was a simple three points for Bigger to score. But before the break Robson cut the lead yet again when he scored a penalty from 40 metres.

Ospreys started the second half as they did the first on the front foot, and they extended their lead with a third try.

After good work by the forwards, Rhys Webb sends the ball out wide to Sam Davies who is able to dive over unchallenged a couple of meters out and Bigger adds the conversion to put the visitors in complete control.

The scorers:

For Dragons:
 Robson 3

For Ospreys:
 Baldwin, Allen, Davies
Cons: Biggar 2
Pen: Biggar

Yellow card: Jack Dixon (Dragons, 30)


Dragons: 15 Carl Meyer, 14 Ashton Hewitt, 13 Sam Beard, 12 Jack Dixon, 11 Jared Rosser, 10 Arwel Robson, 9 Dan Babos, 8 James Benjamin, 7 Ben Roach, 6 Aaron Wainwright, 5 Rynard Landman, 4 Cory Hill (captain), 3 Lloyd Fairbrother, 2 Elliot Dee, 1 Sam Hobbs.
Replacements: 16 Liam Belcher, 17 Thomas Davies, 18 Nicky Thomas, 19 Robson Blake, 20 James Sheekey, 21 Sarel Pretorius, 22 Angus O’Brien, 23 Jarryd Sage.

Ospreys: 15 Dan Evans, 14 Hanno Dirksen, 13 Kieron Fonotia, 12 Owen Watkin, 11 Jeff Hassler, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Olly Cracknell, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Dan Lydiate (captain), 5 Adam Beard, 4 Bradley Davies, 3 Dmitri Arhip, 2 Scott Baldwin, 1 Nicky Smith.
Replacements: 16 Scott Otten, 17 Paul James, 18 Ma’afu Fia, 19 Alun Wyn Jones, 20 Rob McCusker, 21 Tom Habberfield, 22 Sam Davies, 23 Ashley Beck.

Referee: Dan Jones (Wales)
Assistant referees: Craig Evans, Mike English (Wales)
TMO: Neil Hennessy (Wales)

PV: 2
Ospreys finish in style | Rugby365