Wed 17 Jan 2018 | 08:29

Larmour makes Ireland cut

Larmour makes Ireland cut
Wed 17 Jan 2018 | 08:29

Larmour makes Ireland cut


Larmour, 20, has impressed for Leinster in both PRO14 and Champions Cup action this season.

Now he has the chance to earn a place in the Ireland team for the start of their Six Nations campaign against France in Paris on February 3.

Sean O'Brien has missed out on selection due to a hip injury, leaving the British and Irish Lions flank a doubt for the fast-approaching tournament.

"It's been great to witness some quality performances from provincial teams over the last seven weeks of European and derby matches, with a number of players performing well," Ireland boss Schmidt said.

"There were some very tight decisions but it's great to see some competitive depth in a number of positions."

Leinster flank O'Brien joins the likes of Garry Ringrose, Jared Payne and Jamie Heaslip among the long-term absentees that Ireland must do without, at least for the opening rounds of Six Nations action.

Leinster wing Fergus McFadden has forced his way back into the ranks, and could make his first Test appearance since the 35-25 victory over Scotland in Dublin on March 19, 2016.

Playmaker Joey Carbery has been included as he continues his recovery from the wrist injury he suffered during Ireland's November internationals.

Ireland squad:

Forwards: Rory Best (captain, Ulster), Jack Conan, Sean Cronin (both Leinster), Ultan Dillane (Connacht), Tadhg Furlong, Cian Healy (both Leinster), Iain Henderson, Rob Herring (both Ulster), David Kilcoyne (Munster), Dan Leavy, Jack McGrath, Jordi Murphy (all Leinster), Peter O'Mahony (Munster), Andrew Porter (Leinster), Quinn Roux (Connacht), James Ryan (Leinster), John Ryan, Christiaan Stander (both Munster), Devin Toner, Josh Van der Flier (both Leinster).

Backs: Bundee Aki (Connacht), Joey Carbery (Leinster), Andrew Conway, Keith Earls, Chris Farrell (all Munster), Robbie Henshaw, Rob Kearney (both Leinster), Ian Keatley (Munster), Jordan Larmour (Leinster), Kieran Marmion (Connacht), Fergus McFadden, Luke McGrath (both Leinster), Conor Murray (Munster), Johnny Sexton (Leinster), Rory Scannell (Munster), Jacob Stockdale (Ulster).

Agence France-Presse


PV: 2
Larmour Makes Ireland Cut | Rugby365