Wed 22 Mar 2017 | 09:41

Brache cracks a start at the Force

Brache cracks a start at the Force
Wed 22 Mar 2017 | 09:41

Brache cracks a start at the Force


Experienced utility back Marcel Brache makes his first appearance of the season at inside centre.

Luke Morahan shifts to fullback, with young outside back Alex Newsome named on the right wing for his maiden start.

In the forward pack Ben Daley comes back into the starting loosehead position, with Pek Cowan moving to the bench.

Wallaby hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau earns his first start and excitement machine Isireli Naisarani is set to make his run-on Super Rugby debut at blindside flank.

Tighthead Jermaine Ainsley also returns to the starting XV.

Flyhalf Jono Lance has been named to captain the Western Force for the first time and becomes the 11th player to skipper the West Australian side.

Club legend Matt Hodgson will make his return from a hamstring injury off the bench, while 208cm lock Richie Arnold (twin brother of Wallabies lock Rory) is in line for his long awaited debut.

Western Force: 15 Luke Morahan, 14 Alex Newsome, 13 Curtis Rona, 12 Marcel Brache, 11 Chance Peni, 10 Jono Lance (captain), 9 Ryan Louwrens, 8 Richard Hardwick, 7 Kane Koteka, 6 Isi Naisarani, 5 Matt Philip, 4 Ross Haylett-Petty, 3 Jermaine Ainsley, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Ben Daley.
Replacements: 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Pek Cowan, 18 Tetera Faulkner, 19 Richie Arnold, 20 Matt Hodgson, 21 Michael Ruru, 22 Ian Prior, 23 Robbie Coleman.

Date: Friday, March 24
Venue: AMI Stadium, Christchurch
Kick-off: 19.35 (14.35 Australian Western Time; 06.35 GMT)
Referee: Rohan Hoffmann (Australia)
Assistant referees: Richard Kelly (New Zealand), Angus Mabey (New Zealand)
TMO: Shane McDermott (New Zealand)

PV: 2
Brache Cracks A Start At The Force | Rugby365