Wed 12 Jul 2017 | 01:11

Continuity key for Kings

Continuity key for Kings
Wed 12 Jul 2017 | 01:11

Continuity key for Kings


The Kings host the Cheetahs – the other team axed from Super Rugby – at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Friday.

Davids, who has led the Southern Kings side to their best season in the competition since the Eastern Cape franchise's first involvement in Super Rugby since 2013, made just one change to his starting XV that beat the Bulls 30-31 at Loftus Versfeld last weekend.
Lock Wilhelm van der Sluys will make a return to the side after missing out of action last weekend due to a concussion, as he replaces Irne Herbst in the starting team.
In a positional switch, Lubabalo Mtyanda, who put in a man-of-the-match performance in Pretoria while playing in the No.5 jersey will don the No.4 jersey worn by Herbst last weekend.
The rest of the starting XV remains the same.
"We are happy to have Wilhelm van der Sluys back in the team," Davids said.

"He has been a standout performer throughout the season since joining us.

"He will pair up with Giant [Mtyanda], another player who has come to the party whenever called upon – like he did against the Bulls last weekend," Davids added.
"We are fortunate to have the rest of our starting XV fully fit and we will maintain consistency. We have also kept our bench more or less the same, but will make a final decision over the next day or two over two spots on the bench because of medical reasons.
"We are monitoring Irne Herbst closely and have bracketed him with Mzwanele Zito as back up locks, while we will also make a decision between Waylon Murray and Yaw Penxe as backline cover."
Southern Kings: 15 Malcolm Jaer, 14 Wandile Mjekevu, 13 Berton Klaasen, 12 Luzuko Vulindlu, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Lionel Cronje (captain), 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Andisa Ntsila, 7 Tyler Paul, 6 Chris Cloete, 5 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 4 Lubabalo Mtyanda, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Michael Willemse, 1 Mzamo Majola.
Replacements: 16. Martin Bezuidenhout, 17. Schalk Ferreira, 18. Dayan van der Westhuizen, 19. Irne Herbst/Mzwanele Zito, 20. Thembelani Bholi, 21. Rudi van Rooyen, 22. Masixole Banda, 23. Waylon Murray/Yaw Penxe.
Date: Friday, July 14
Venue: Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth
Kick-off: 19.00 (17.00 GMT)
Referee: Shuhei Kubo
Assistant referees: AJ Jacobs, Cwengile Jadezweni
TMO: Shaun Veldsman

PV: 2
Continuity Key For Kings | Rugby365