Wed 17 May 2017 | 05:23

Cruden back, Ngatai out

Cruden back, Ngatai out
Wed 17 May 2017 | 05:23

Cruden back, Ngatai out


It features five changes to the starting XV that defeated the Reds 46-17 in New Plymouth in Round 11.

There's just one change in the forwards with Nathan Harris making his first start of the year at hooker. The 25-year-old Harris, who re-signed this week with the Chiefs until 2019, made a welcome return to Super Rugby two weeks ago following a long injury layoff.

There are four changes to the backs with co-captain Aaron Cruden returning to start at first flyhalf. 

Anton Lienert-Brown, who also re-signed with the Chiefs this week, moves to inside centre from No.13 to replace Charlie Ngatai. Sam McNicol is promoted from the bench to start in No.13 and Tim Nanai-Williams has fully recovered from a shoulder injury sustained against the Hurricanes in Round Three to start on the right wing. 
Chiefs: 15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Tim Nanai-Williams, 13 Sam McNicol, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 James Lowe, 10 Aaron Cruden (co-captain), 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Michael Leitch, 7 Sam Cane (co-captain), 6 Mitchell Brown, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Dominic Bird, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Kane Hames.  
Replacements: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Siegfried Fisi'ihoi, 18 Atu Moli, 19 Taleni Seu, 20 Liam Messam, 21 Jonathan Taumateine, 22 Stephen Donald, 23 Shaun Stevenson.
Date: Friday, May 19
Venue: International Stadium, Suva
Kick-off: 19.35 (07.35 GMT)
Referee: Mike Fraser
Assistant referees: Brendon Pickerill, Paul Williams
TMO: Shane McDermott

PV: 2
Cruden back, Ngatai out | Rugby365