Thu 13 Jul 2017 | 07:15

Hodgson returns for last Hurrah

Hodgson returns for last Hurrah
Thu 13 Jul 2017 | 07:15

Hodgson returns for last Hurrah


Hanging up his boots at the end of the season, Hodgson will earn his 140th Super Rugby cap for the Western Australian franchise having earned his first in the side's inaugural match against the Brumbies back in 2006.

In further changes to the side, Tetera Faulkner comes into the starting XV at tighthead prop while Marcel Brache will start on the wing having returned from international duties with the USA Eagles.

In the reserves, Anaru Rangi and Shambeckler Vui come into the 23 while scrumhalf Ian Prior is in line to earn his 50th cap for the Western Force when he enters the fray.
Coach Dave Wessels says the team is determined to finish the season strong and send Hodgson out on a winning note.
"Saturday's game will be special for both 'Hodgo' and the team. He's given everything to the cause over a long career and we hope the Sea of Blue will help us give him the send-off he deserves."

Western Force: 15 Dane Haylett-Petty, 14 Marcel Brache, 13 Curtis Rona, 12 Bill Meakes, 11 Alex Newsome, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Michael Ruru, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 Matt Hodgson (captain), 6 Ross Haylett-Petty, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Matt Philip, 3 Tetera Faulkner, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Pek Cowan.
Replacements: 16 Anaru Rangi, 17 Francois van Wyk, 18 Shambeckler Vui, 19 Lewis Carmichael, 20 Richard Hardwick, 21 Ian Prior, 22 Jono Lance, 23 James Verity-Amm.

Date: Saturday, July 15
Venue: nib Stadium, Perth
Kick-off: 17.45 (19.45 AEST; 09.45 GMT)
Referee: Nic Berry (Australia)
Assistant referees: Will Houston (Australia), Graham Cooper (Australia)
TMO: Ian Smith (Australia)

PV: 2
Hodgson Returns For Last Hurrah | Rugby365